Top 5 Favorite Animal Adventures (& Party Wrap-Up!)

Top 5 Favorite Animal Adventures (& Party Wrap-Up!)

fff-banner

Can you believe it’s the last day of the party?!! It’s been such a blessing sharing a mutual love of books with you all. πŸ˜‰ I officially can’t wait for next year. πŸ˜€ But before you go, there’s a couple more things (and one last genre!) I’d like to share with you.

First off, the giveaway is over! Winners have been chosen, so head on over to Rebekah’s blog to see who won and congratulate them. πŸ˜‰Β She also did a fantastic job thanking all of our hostesses and YOU the party-goers. But of course she left herself out of all the thanks. (Which is really cool of her, you have to admit.) Just like last year, she was the brains behind this operation, the organizer, the enthusiasm, and the driving force. So go tell her how much you appreciate her! πŸ˜€

On our hostess blog, you’ll find a helpful pdf of all our favorite books from the week, so be sure to download that. πŸ˜‰ I’m also in the process ofΒ putting all the books I recommended on one Goodreads shelf. (And if it’s a series, I’ll just add the first book to save space. πŸ˜‰ ) Have fun browsing through it to find your new favorites! πŸ˜€

Just in case you missed any of my posts, here’s a nice map for you…

Monday: Top 5 Favorite Biblical Fiction Favorites

Tuesday: Top 5 Favorite Clean, Christian Romance Reads

Wednesday: Top 5 Favorites Series of All Time

Thursday: Top 5 Favorite Missionary Stories

Friday: Top 5 Favorite Indie Published Books

And now for the bonus genre!

820703

1. Come On, Seabiscuit by Ralph Moody is one of the best horse books ever! It’s based on real historical events and tells the story of a little horse with a big heart and the will to win. ❀ Ever since my mom read this aloud to us as younger kids, I’ve loved this story sooo much. πŸ˜‰ It’s definitely worth reading!

674047

2. I find Along Came a Dog by Meindert DeJong delightfully unusual for its genre. It stays pretty true to how farm animals would actually act, even down to the dog calling the farmer “The Man”. I read it aloud to my youngest sister earlier this year, and we enjoyed it immensely.Β (Read our review here.)

24293206

3. Remember how I proposed that we start using heart ratings instead of star ratings?! The World of Pooh by A.A. Milne needs about seven hearts to properly portray how much I love it. πŸ˜‰ (And I know it’s technically not an animal book, but I had to get it in here somewhere. It’s close enough. πŸ˜› ) I read it aloud to my youngest sister a few months ago, and we wrote a review together here. ❀

423156

4. Oh, look! Another greatest-horse-book-ever! πŸ˜€ King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry is about the ancestor of Man O’ War who is the ancestor of Seabiscuit. So basically, this is where all the coolest horses started. πŸ˜€ Just a note that because the horse is from Arabia, Islam is portrayed.

123170

5. Big Red by Jim Kjelgard is another childhood favorite, and the main reason I always thought I needed to own an Irish Setter. πŸ˜€ This dog is epic-ly smart, loyal, and cool. πŸ˜‰ Just a note that there is some intense action and possibly a little “hick swearing”.

That’s all folks! Don’t forget to check out our hostess blog one last time! (I hear there are some books on sale too. Hint: The Twin Arrows is one of them. πŸ˜‰ ) It was great partying with you all, and I’ll see you next week with some regular blog posts.

Happy reading!

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Animal Adventures (& Party Wrap-Up!)

  1. I read “Big Red”, along with other Jim Kjelgaard books. They’re not bad, but some of them have Evolutionary mentions. I’ve also read the others, except for the first two. I agree, “The World of Pooh” is one of the sweetest books. And I think it’s an animal book, too. There’s a bear, a pig, rabbits, kangaroos, donkeys…

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love your list, Kate! πŸ™‚ I think I’ve read most of those books or know the story from somewhere. πŸ™‚

    Hard to believe today is the end of the party. It will be over, but not the books we shared! They will live on as new readers pick them up and get lost in their pages. (Now doesn’t that sound like a brilliant blog post?)

    And you are too flattering. I couldn’t have done this without you. In fact, I probably wouldn’t have even tried.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Those picks were neat! An animal based series I enjoyed when I was younger is the “Animal Ark” series, they are fun and exciting! πŸ˜€ Thank you so much for being a host for this awesome party, I had a great time this week at the Literary Lodge, and biking down to the barn to grab blankets to hop into a boat to read a book for quite awhile. But, on the lake it’s a bit chilly, so resting on a bench in front of the bonfire was a welcome warm up!

    Thanks so much again, this was AWESOME! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, those sound interesting! I’ve never heard about them before. πŸ˜‰

      Aw, you’re soooo welcome!!! It was a ton of fun, and it was awesome having you! πŸ˜€ ❀

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.