Book Review: The World of Pooh

24293206“Here’s where Pooh’s adventures all began. Published in 1926, this is the original Winnie-the-Pooh with illustrations by Ernest H. Shepard. Beginning with “Winnie-the-Pooh and Some Bees,” here are ten classic tales featuring the whole gang: Pooh, Piglet, Rabbit, Eeyore, Owl, Kanga, Little Roo, and Christopher Robin. Rmember when Pooh visits Rabbit and “gets into a tight place” as he attempts to enter Rabbit’s house? Remember Eeyore’s very eventful birthday party? Piglet’s water-filled rescue? The beloved stories are all here, as A.A. Milne wrote them more than 70 years ago.” (from Goodreads)

I got to rediscover the 100 Acre Wood with my youngest sister. ❤ Here’s what we thought…

Our Review
We love it! It was the little sister’s first time hearing a lot of the stories. We like the relationship of Pooh and Christopher Robin and all the others and all the others. It was funny how all the animals sign their names because they can’t spell. We’ve played Pooh sticks before. Eeyore was actually really funny like how sarcastic he was. We cried at the end.

My Review
To tell the truth, I want to be Winnie-the-Pooh when I grow up. For a bear of very little brain, he’s got a lot of heart. He’s loyal, adorably honest, and a good friend to everyone. In fact, of all the characters, he’s probably the least remarkable or unusual; but his blundering, good-natured contentedness is what makes the story (with a little help from the delightful others, mainly Piglet and Eeyore). As an artist myself, I enjoyed Pooh Bear’s poetry and how he claimed you don’t make poetry it “just comes”. And the literary quality! Oh, I loved every minute. 😀

This time around though, it wasn’t just a cute children’s story I was sharing with my youngest sister. It wasn’t just an old classic to make this author’s heart happy. It was a story that reminded me of God’s love for me. As I thought about Pooh’s ordinary-ness and his relationship to Christopher Robin, it was as if I were accidentally reading an allegory. Who does Pooh bring all his troubles to? Who fondly says “silly old bear” then helps him out? Who loves him as a friend?

It may seem like a stretch, but it was often on my mind as the story progressed. Here’s when I started crying…

“What do you like doing best in the world, Pooh?” “Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best—” and then he had to stop and think. Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called. And then he thought that being with Christopher Robin was a very good thing to do, and having Piglet near was a very friendly thing to have; and so, when he had thought it all out, he said, “What I like best in the world is Me and Piglet going to see You, and You saying ‘What about a little something?’ and Me saying, ‘Well, I shouldn’t mind a little something, should you, Piglet’, and it being a hummy sort of day outside, and birds singing.”

I think I will definitely have to re-read this book in the near future. And if you haven’t, it’s time you meet my friend Edward Bear. 😉

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The World of Pooh

  1. I love these stories too. My grandpa actually gave me his old hardcover copies that he had as a child. Such a delight! And we have the only audio approved by the original Christopher Robin! LOVE listening to it! No one can read it like this reader.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, that is sooo special! ❤ My mom has one of the classic stuffed Winnie the Pooh bears that he dad got for at Disneyland when she was little.

      Oh, what is the name of that reader? I wonder if that is the version I've heard or if I must look it up. 😀

      Like

      1. The reader is Peter Dennis. If you don’t have his version, you should get it! We got our copy from Blackstone Audio.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

