Allison Tebo Interview

Allison Tebo Interview

Join me in welcoming author Allison Tebo to Once Upon an Ordinary! *sets off celebratory fireworks*

Allison, tell us a bit about yourself.

cropped-authorI’m a Christian homeschool graduate in my mid-twenties.  I work part time in a family owned freight brokerage as an agent for a major transportation company, but my real ambition is to be a full time writer.  I am also a children’s illustrator and cartoonist, a singer, with plans to move towards voice acting.  

I blog at Allison’s Well and I’m also on Youtube, Goodreads, Facebook, and Pinterest.

 
What first made you decide you wanted to be an author?

My big sister! I wanted to be just like her, and – I’m embarrassed now to admit it – I wanted all the accolades and attention that her stories were getting. Since then, I’ve learned that I don’t have to compare my stories to other people’s writing, and I don’t have to do something just because someone I admire is doing it. I don’t write for accolades anymore (though it’s always fun to have people get excited about my writing, of course), I write because I must. I write because it’s what I want to do for the rest of my life. Writing has become as much a part of me as breathing. The words are there, and they must come out.  

Congratulations on publishing! May we have an introduction to The Reluctant Godfather?

33387751Burndee is a young and cantankerous fairy godfather, who would rather bake cakes than help humans. A disgrace to the fairy order, Burndee has only two wards entrusted to his care…a cinder girl and a charming prince.

A royal ball presents Burndee with the brilliant solution of how to make his wards happy with the least amount of effort. He’ll arrange a meeting and hope the two fall in love.

A humorous and magical re-telling of Cinderella from a unique perspective.

 

What is your favorite aspect of the ordinary life God has blessed you with?

My faith – I would be nothing without Him. My family; my life would be empty without my amazing parents and siblings. After that, probably beauty – the beauty of a flower, of a cloud, or even a lovely sound. The beauty of wonderful friendships. The beauty of words and good stories. Beauty is definitely something I can’t live without, and I want to learn even more about what God considers beautiful, not what the world calls beautiful.  

Any plans for further projects?  

Oh wow – I didn’t realize this interview was going to take the rest of the day….  Just kidding! Yes, I always have plans for future projects! My plan for 2017 is as follows:  

Publish a science fiction short story called ‘The Key to the Chains’.   

Write a fairy tale retelling of the Princess and the Pea – a novella.  

Write and publish one other novella, the details are yet unknown!  

And if I have any time left over, I would like to complete my second draft on my ‘baby’ – a space opera novel – and write my first draft on a Roman Steampunk novel that I have started outlining.  


Thank you so much for coming!

Thank you so much for having me, Kate!

13 thoughts on “Allison Tebo Interview

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.