(Slightly) Romantic Books Part 1

It’s February, A.K.A. National Romance Month. Ick. Oh, sorry. 😉

I love reading romance in books, but it drives me crazy when that slight element becomes The Whole Purpose of the Book or way too detailed. I make it my goal to collect books that have romance as a very clean, God-honoring sideplot… Here are just a few that I feel comfortable giving the thumbs-up. 😉

33015956Last Wish by Valerie Howard is such an amazing, tear-jerking story! Gospel-filled with a sweet romantic sideplot that is friendship based. Read my full review here.

 

 

 

 

 

27799758Our Christmas Bear by Sarah Brazytis is a children’s book, a Christmas story, and a retelling of one of my favorite fairytales. The relational sideplot is very sweet and clean! Enjoy my review.

 

 

 

 

28942618Rose of Prophecy by Hope Ann just blew me away when I first read it. Beauty and the Beast is such a sweet story to begin with but when you make it All. About. The. Gospel. it just gets ten times better. Truly adorable, clean, uplifting book. Read my review here.

 

 

 

 

 

27210729At the Christmas Lodge by Rebekah Morris is a short Christmas story with an amazing Gospel message, lots of fun times (snowed-in, anyone?), and yes, a very sweet sideplot. 😉 I reviewed it here.

 

 

 

 

 

233819Love Comes Softly by Janette Oke is probably the iconic Christian romance novel. Why? Because it doesn’t have any offensive content and makes an important point not many other books do. I was very blessed by it when I read it as an older teen.

 

 

 

 

 

41424Beauty by Robin McKinley is of course another Beauty and the Beast story and the first I ever read actually. Incredibly sweet but with slightly more romance related content than Rose of Prophecy. 😉

 

 

 

 

 

18729999Adventures and Adversities by Sarah Holman was one of the first books I’ve read by a homeschooled author. It has a very encouraging spiritual theme, is in a medieval setting (my favorite!), and has a friendship-based romance built on loyalty. Read my review here.

 

 

 

 

 

25603566I Love Thee by Faith Blum is a sweet novella and quite the opposite of “love at first sight”. Nope, it’s a thing that grows through shared experience and love for God. A sweet read.

 

 

 

 

 

229117A Man Called Peter by Catherine Marshall is actually a biography of an aaaaammmmaaaazzzzing man of God. Quite the extraordinary book! The fact that he has a very sweet godly relationship with his wife is just the icing on the cake. 😉

 

 

 

 

 

What are some of your favorite books from any genre that have handled this element well?

I’ll be back next week with more books to recommend! Have a great weekend! 😉

12 thoughts on “(Slightly) Romantic Books Part 1

  1. Oh my goodness, hands down the Out of Time Series. Although I can name many other books, the way Nadine Brandes handled the relationship between two of the characters was impeccable. There’s no other word to describe it. The thing about it is, the guy is believable. Sometimes in books, the guys are really real enough, y’know? But this guy was so REAL. And although there was definitely chemistry there, but the characters were very wise, with each other’s hearts and their own. They were so focused on God throughout all of it, and glorifying him… but then it was still adorable and *sigh* I loved it.

    Another one would be Beyond the Gathering Storm by the queen Janette Oke, which at first frustrated me because the guy was being a jerk, but then it all ended well (not the ending one would expect from just any Christian romance). Although I did think it was a bit intense for me, I was younger at the time so anything romantic was a little too intense for me. But I still loved the book, because it had such an amazing message in it. 🙂

    And I’ll stop there.. maybe I should just write my own post on my blog lol. Great post, loved loved loved loved it! Peace.

    Jazzy | http://thrivinghope.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that’s great! It sounds pretty amazing that she was able to make it realistic, super sweet, and God-honoring at the same time. We really need more books like that!

      Oh, I’ve really liked Janette Oke’s books! Thanks for the recommendation–I will have to look that one up. 😉

      Yes, do! And put the link here because I want to read it. It sounds like you’ve collected some awesome books!

      Aw, thanks! Glad you were blessed. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really love most of Lauraine Snelling’s books. My favorite is the Red River of the North series, as there is only romance in the first two books, and it is very clean! There is a little bit of romance in the rest of the series, but it is a side-plot, not the main theme. I also love all the historical info in them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree, Kate! A little romance that feels real is always fun to read, but I’d rather not have the focus of the book be the “romance!” I have “Love Comes Softly” on my kindle to read, but I haven’t gotten to it yet. Now I want to go read it. 🙂 Hopefully I can fit it in this month. I would read it tomorrow, but it’s my youngest niece’s 2nd birthday party. (I can’t believe she’s already 2!)
    And thanks for recommending my story. 🙂 That was sweet of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad you agree! Your books have been amazing in this area, and I never feel like you are throwing romance in to “spice it up” or “just because”.

      Oh, yes! You might really enjoy it. 😉 Aw, that’s sweet! We are babysitting three nephews today for their parents’ anniversary so today is more imaginative play than reading for me too. 😉

      Welcome, thanks for writing it! 😀

      Like

  4. Oooh great blog series, Katie!!! I’m a huge fan of not-icky romance that is super biblical and sweet… Even though I hardly ever read that kind of genre yet. Thanks for letting me read The Christmas Lodge even so, sis. The writing was soooo good!!
    Aaahhh ONLY read The Last Wish if you wish to cry!! Waahahh boooo hoo!!! And Man Called Peter too!! Okay, I’m done… Excuse me while I find a tissue…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

