Plate Update: Dessert, British Detectives, and Edits

February is the shortest month of the year, right? Well, this one felt very looooonnng and jam-packed! 😉

Here’s a quick update on what I did last month. This full plate was a pretty balanced diet. Not to mention that huge dish of dessert… 😉

Beta-read and read for review:

Emmeline (five stars!)

Beyond the Horizon (four stars)

Fate of Mercy (This is a bonus to something else I beta-read)

London in the Dark (four stars)

Pleasure read:

It Happened on a Train (three stars)

Some Writer! The Story of E.B. White (five stars and a heart)

Kingdom Come (four stars)

I’ve also spent a good deal of time on Sherlock Holmes short stories and now The Hound of the Baskervilles. It’s so brilliant I’m not sure what is going on. 😉

Answered:

Emails and a few Facebook messages

Blog and Facebook comments

Interview questions from my brother 😀

Googled:

Kindle DRM

Do bananas float?

Calibre e-book management software download (This is literally the best thing ever…)

Sherlock Season 4 “Who You Really Are” song ❤ ❤ ❤

Crayola crayon colors in 12 count package

The five stages of grief (story research)

Definition of the three types of editors 

When do babies smile?

Facebook Messenger stickers (there was a war)

Optimal chapter length (2k to 3k words)

Number of pallbearers (also story research–spoilers, sweetie)

Average height of men (5′ 10″) and women (5′ 4″) in the US

Ultimate, comprehensive comma rule list

Wrote:

Emailsssss 😛

Approximately 7k words on “Kiera” which  finished the first draft!!! Early! (That was the cherry on top this month!)

Description for “Kiera” so I at least know how to tell my friends what I’m working on. It’s still pretty rough draft-like though…

Brainstorming notes

Blog posts (the top five being Randomly Interviewing My Brother, Allison Tebo Interview, (Slightly) Romantic Books Part 1, (Slightly) Romantic Books Part 2, and Book Review: Emmeline) I also hosted a guest post by Ivy Rose on Writing Romance.

Edited:

My Projects page

A blog post for Wordquill, a new writing site I joined this month!

The first few pages of a friend’s NaNoWriMo novel

We got to celebrate two family birthdays and two church family birthdays last month! (Where I did have some literal dessert, in case you were wondering.) Talk about a party! 🙂 There was also tons of babysitting adorable minions. This month I’m looking forward to helping with two book releases, knocking out those last three library books I’ve had for months (and getting more, of course), and maybe some editing! My big project for the next month (or few) is rewriting “The Twin Arrows”, which I can’t wait to get all shined up for you to read. 😉 I’m also excited to see what surprises are in store!

How was your February? What are you looking forward to in the springtime, lovely, lovely springtime?

10 thoughts on “Plate Update: Dessert, British Detectives, and Edits

  1. Sounds like a lovely busy month. What did I do? Umm . . .
    I wrote 19k plus words.
    I read some.
    Babysat a little.
    Attended a my youngest niece’s 2nd birthday party.
    Attended a music concert with my grandpa.
    Wrote blog posts. (No, I didn’t count them in my word count.)
    Taught writing classes.
    And I don’t know what else. It was busy, a bit crazy, and not long enough to get things done. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Have I mentioned how much I like your “Plate Updates”? They are so much fun! And well, I like your blog altogether and am thankful I can be catching up with it. 🙂 Cause yeah, February was a really crazy month and I pretty much read zero blogs, and even stopped blogging for an entire week. (Something that pretty much hasn’t happened in years.)
    Way to go with getting so much done! =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you! My sister gets email updates from your blog and tells me you’ve posted some pretty cool things lately. I need to go catch up there. 😉

      Was February crazy for everyone? 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

