Top 5 Favorite Historical Fiction Books

Top 5 Favorite Historical Fiction Books

fff-banner

Historical fiction is one of my absolute favorite genres, especially for read-alouds. I connect with the people in history, not the random dates or dry measurements; so it’s always been my favorite way of learning about a specific time period.

402127Calico Bush by Rachel Field

This is such a well-written story set during the little-known time period of the French and Indian war. I love the main character, the feeling of the setting, and the fact that there is no modern attitude thrown in. 😉 Just a note that there are some realistic pioneer hardships that may take a little editing for younger readers.

 

 

 

128048Carry On, Mr. Bowditch by Jean Lee Latham

(I’m beginning to notice a pattern here. A lot of my favorite books have that cool circle on the front.) 😉 This book is soooo amazing! It’s a study in perfectly interesting writing right from the beginning. Mr. Bowditch is a super interesting character that is very well-developed and realistic. 😉

 

 

 

4918709The Princess Adelina by Julie Sutter

I loved reading about this Esther-type woman who had such an impact for Christ during the early medieval spread of true Christianity. It is a such a beautiful story of faith and faithfulness. 😉 Just a note that there are a few intense scenes connected with the paganism of the people’s surrounding them.

 

 

 

7143771The Doll with the Yellow Star by Yona Zeldis McDonough

I read this very recently and loved seeing the child’s perspective of fear, loss, and love during World War II. Quite the well-written, realistic tearjerker that manages to handle the hard parts discreetly. For more encouragement to pick it up, read my review. 😉

 

 

 

20439785The Winged Watchman by Hilda Van Stockum

This story of an ordinary family reaching out to help their countrymen and neighbors during early World War II is one of my family’s favorite read-alouds. It is one of those great books that accidentally teaches you something while you are enjoying it to death. 😉

 

 

 

fff-bushels-2

Many of these would make great read-alouds as you peel apples for a delicious autumn pie. 😉

For links to the other blogs participating in this party and more information on entries for the grand prize, visit our hostess blog. 😉

read-another-page-fff

 

17 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Historical Fiction Books

  1. Okay, I need to find a copy of “The Winged Watchman.” It sounds really good. I also liked “Carry On, Mr. Bowditch.” I remember Mom reading it aloud to us and several other neighbor children for school. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oohhh….Carry on Mr. Bowditch is amazing! I was going to put it on my list, but other books surpassed it 😉 Seriously, choosing only five books is sooo hard! And Calico Bush and Winged Watchman are also great reads! I haven’t read the other two, but I’m going to have to try them sometime!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read all of those except for The Winged Watchman. Good books there! Do you think the library would have The Winged Watchman? Also, as I don’t have the book “Carry On, Mr. Bowditch” can you remind me of what it is about? Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The library doesn’t usually have The Winged Watchman in my experience (just because it’s a little bit of an older book); but it’s still worth a try. 😉 You never know.

      “Carry On, Mr. Bowditch” is set in Colonial America. It’s about a self-educated man who was really awesome at math and consequently corrected the charts people were using for sailing and a lot of the other methods they were using. (He really was a brilliant guy, and the romance in the story is pretty sweet too.) 😉

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.