Top 5 Favorite Romance Reads

fff-banner

Ah, romance. It makes me sigh in pleasure and sigh in frustration. I like a little romance here and there (it’s a blessed and necessary part of life); but a lot of books tend to overdo it and just leave me feeling dirty if I even give them a try. My favorite kind of romance is friendship-based and sweet to the core.


81330471Aggie’s Inheritance series
by Chautona Havig

I have such a hard time finding romance novels that are wholesome and sweet (without being too sweet, if ya’ know what I mean); so finding a whole series is a huge bonus! It is such a sweet series with a great message! ๐Ÿ˜‰ For more reasons to read this series (!!!) and a comprehensive content advisory (although I have yet to read the latest book) read my review.

 

 

543358A Little House of Their Own byย Celia Wilkins

I’m not a huge fan of all the “extra” Little House books, but this one is told in the style and spirit of the ones Laura wrote. It was so sweet to seeย “Ma and Pa’s” friendship-based courtship that sets the stage for their future family.ย Pretty, pretty adorable. ๐Ÿ˜‰ โค Just a note that there is some slight feminismย that may or may not be accurate.

 

 

 

41424Beauty by Robin McKinley

Confession: as of the beginning of this year I’d never read the story of Beauty and the Beast. So this was honestly my first time. And THE ANGELS SING! Not only was it the sweetest story ever, but it was pulled off with such an adorable friendship-based relationship thatย I loved it twice as much. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Just a note there is some thematic magic.

 

 

233819Love Comes Softly by Janette Oke

This is probably THEย iconicย clean romance; and, while it’s not the most well-written, I do appreciate it for its main theme. Love isn’t always a huge explosive falling-head-over-heels experience, more often it’s based on friendship and shared experience. ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

 

 

9176221Daddy Long-Legs by Jean Webster

When I was reading this, I found myself laughing out loud over Judy’s letters! My Kindle copy is full of highlighted quotes, and I wrote a blog post awhile ago entirely full of them. While I do have this in the romance genre (because that is the main theme); it’s not the whole point of the book, and it is refreshingly full of life outside that area. Just a note there is some slight feminism and discussion of worldviews from that time period.

 

fff-bushels-2Yep. Sweet to the core, just like a bushel of apples. ๐Ÿ˜‰

For links to the other blogs participating in this party and more information on entries for the grand prize, visit our hostess blog. ๐Ÿ˜‰

read-another-page-fff

 

21 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Romance Reads

  1. I read most of the Little House books, but I don’t remember reading that one… I must have missed it! I’d like to read it, but I probably won’t unless my mom buys it at a yard sale. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 1 person

      1. We have a library, but it’s actually really pathetic. It’s so pathetic, it sold its Lord of the Rings books! My mom bought it, of course, even though we already have the whole set. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I could request it, certainly, but then I need to read it quickly.

        CutePolarBear

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah yes, the Aggie books. ๐Ÿ™‚ Like I’ve said before, there are just too many books and not enough room in Top 5 lists. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    And Daddy Long-Legs! So much fun! I should go read that again . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally agree with you about romance books! It is so difficult to find good ones! I believe we have one or maybe a few of the Aggie’s Inheritance, so they are definitely going on my to read list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

