Top 5 Fantasy Finds

Top 5 Fantasy Finds

fff-banner

I read “fantasy” as one of my absolute favorite genres probably because it is so close to medieval; but it’s often hard to find anything in it because it usually includes quite a bit of magic. (Read my thoughts on the issue here.) It’s very special for me to be able to recommend five non-magical (or at least very light) books from this genre.

41egzxvm-5l-_sx311_bo1204203200_Song of the Sword by Hope Ann

This was a nice new surprise this year. Not magical in the least, well-written, and supercalifragilisticexpialidocious-ly inspiring. (Like over-highlighting on the Kindle inspiring.) For more reasons to read it and a small content advisory, read my review. (And the first book in the series is super good too!) 😉

 

 

 

23754884The Green Ember by S.D. Smith

Rabbits with swords? Wouldn’t that be kind of little kiddie or something? Nope. Also non-magical (bonus!), this book is really amazing, and the characters being rabbits adds a neat twist to the action scenes. For excessive fangirling, read my review here. And yours truly is hopping up and down (like a rabbit, of course) in anticipation for the sequel. I can’t wait to read it!

 

 

25618438The Black Star of Kingston by S.D. Smith

This is something of a prequel to The Green Ember, but could just as easily stand-alone as it’s own story. It was fantastic to read the history behind the pledge they are always saying to each other, and Fleck Blackstar was FABULOUS! (For a rabbit.) 😉 Read my review.

 

 

 

16166626Dreamlander by K.M. Weiland

If this portal-medieval fantasy classifies as magical at all, it’s very light. That said, the book is AMAZING!!! Jumping back and forth between this world and the dream one, Lael; sword-fighting; cool elf-like people (with huge ears); and even some sweet romance… It was definitely a cliche breaker because it went against the you-accidentally-found-another-world-and-now-you-are-automatically-it’s-savior story line. Nope, the MC’s coming is a world-ending problem. Two worlds ending. For a content advisory and some more incomprehensible screeching, read my review.

DSC09964 (1)

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

What would a post on fantasy be without the pinnacle of the whole genre? That’s a picture of our family treasury (complete with color illustrations and maps) along with my Hobbit door necklace. With very light magic, amazing characters, some good British wit, and amazing spiritual themes–well, you get why I love the series. 😉

fff-bonfiresWarm your hands in the glow of an autumn bonfire and let your imagination take you to another world.

For links to the other blogs participating in this party and entries for the grand prize, visit our hostess blog. 😉

read-another-page-fff

 

17 thoughts on “Top 5 Fantasy Finds

  1. The Green Ember! Yes!!!! I am not much into fantasy, but this book…no words. Like…50 stars. 😛 I also cannot wait to get my hands on that sequel! 🙂 And I also loved The Black Star of Kingston. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I, like you, don’t enjoy reading about magic, and don’t think it’s a very good subject to have in your mind. So I’m very curious about the books you listed; I’ve never heard of them! Except of course, the Chronicles of Narnia. 😉

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hooray for The Green Ember! SUCH a great book. And I can’t wait to continue the story in ‘Ember Falls’ – I’ve been saving it to be the reading for my trip to Hutchmoot!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.