five fall favorites // my top 5 indie discoveries

five fall favorites // my top 5 indie discoveries

Hello, and happy day four (aka the one I was secretly most looking forward to though for legal reasons I love all my children equally)!

Indie (or self-published) books carry such a beautiful diversity of genre-smashing, faith-filled, intensely creative, and supremely interesting works. I was first lured into my love of writing by realizing that it’s possible to publish your own book and falling in love with reads by Sarah Holman, Rebekah Morris, and Perry Kirkpatrick, to name my first few.

Now my love for the indie world has doubled since I’m a part of it and I see the ins and outs of community, new releases, and the love poured into every word.

Go forth and find new indie (and maybe small press) books! And remember, some of our bloggers are indie authors too, so you definitely want to check out their works. πŸ˜‰

E. G. Bella // Rebekah // Katja // Lillian

Sarah // Jana // Rhys-Marie // Hannah

Sophia // Rosy // Rose // Riley

Ryana Lynn // Faith // Bethany // Bethany G.

My Top 5 Indie Discoveries

1. Ignite by Jenna Terese

This is the first book I bought when I reconnected with the indie community after a long break. I had seen it hyped literally everywhere on IG, and turns out it’s as good as everyone says. Truly a debut that blew me away. πŸ‘

2. Red Rain by Rachel Newhouse

The first edition of this was the first indie book I’d ever seen, and it made a huge impression on teenage me. Not to mention the story is so meaningful and clever. 😍😍 Now years later the series has grown (both in length and themes), and I know the author, and she’s read my book and !?!

3. Dreamlander by K.M. Weiland

Another of my first indie books and a creative fantasy story that will live with me forever. Not to mention, I literally learned to write from her book Structuring Your Novel, and I’m also a huge fan of her deisel-punk novel Storming. πŸ˜‰

4. Unbroken by Rebekah A. Morris

I bought book one (then later book two) with the money I made off selling my own first book at a homeschool convention years ago. I read every book as it came out and became a fan of numerous others of her works. And I’m proud to say we’re friends. πŸ˜‰

5. The Herbwitch’s Apprentice by Ireen Chau

Another groundbreaking indie (it’s brilliant and full of THEMES and girlhood and illustrations and fairytale-level magic!) I found through the IG hype-train. I’m so glad I found it, and I absolutely love it and the sequel. 😍

Share your favorite indie books below! And pick up Lillian Keith’s book An Apprentice Escapes for FREE!

(Also, enter the giveaway which includes some fabulous indie books. πŸ˜‰ )

18 thoughts on “five fall favorites // my top 5 indie discoveries

  1. Ooooo, I love K.M. Weiland, her writing advice is the BEST. (Oh, and I really like the cover of Red Rain, the art style’s kinda pretty, like the girl is made of porcelain.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Red Rain caught my attention. I’ll have to look into it! I’m enjoying this event! It’s great for expanding the TBR list. πŸ˜‰ Question: Are the free stories only free for one day?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I still can’t believe I was your first indie read! I’m honored to be your gateway into this wonderful world. πŸ˜€ I appreciate you more than you know!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.