five fall favorites // my top 5 buddy-read books

five fall favorites // my top 5 buddy-read books

Happy day three! I hope you’re enjoying the book recs and getting to know new bookish friends!

Today’s theme is all about the books we’ve shared with our friends, whether borrowed, gifted, or buddy-read. I’m blessed to choose books I’ve experienced with my sisters and my best bookish friend Mikayla. 😉

Check out books from your new bookish besties and their friends!

E. G. Bella // Rebekah // Katja // Lillian

Sarah // Jana // Rhys-Marie // Hannah

Sophia // Rosy // Rose // Riley

Ryana Lynn // Faith // Bethany // Bethany G.

My Top 5 Buddy-Read Books

1. The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner’s Dilemma by Trenton Lee Stewart

As I mentioned before, I ended up falling in love with this series and read a few of them as buddy-reads. This third book was the first one I read with Mikayla, and wow is it so good! Almost better than the first, since there are some huge reveals and a satisfying conclusion. I seriously cannot recommend these books enough!

2. Beautiful Blue World by Suzanne LaFleur

It’s been a few years now since I first discovered this book, so I had to text Mikayla a double-check we’d actually buddy-read it together. (Turns out it was probably the sequel. 😉 ) Whether or not we did, it’s become *our* book and one I’ll forever associate with friendship and my best friend. ❤ It’s a great alternate history story with deep themes and tearjerking moments.

3. Swipe by Evan Angler

This book is a more recent read, and a thrilling, unique dystopian that had me on the edge of my seat at some moments. O.o. I also enjoyed reading this one with Mikayla, and we’ve continued the series together. 😉

4. Wings of a Dream by D’Ann Mateer

Mikayla sent me a copy of this one, and I fell in love immediately with the story, the characters, and the bit of history I’d previously known nothing about. And the slowburn! And the marriage-of-convenience-ish vibes! *sighs happily* I read it in a day, then turned around and read it aloud to a younger sister. And as each gets old enough, I make sure they get to read it. 😉

5. Martin and Marco by Jonny Jimison

This book started with me reading with a younger sister (probably the same one) then spread throughout the family even to my nephews. It’s become a staple of humor and adventure, and the graphic novel style makes it perfect for non-readers too. 😉

Share with us in the comments the books you’ve found through friends and family! My TBR could always use your help. 😉

Have you entered the giveaway?

Don’t forget to pick up As Long as I Belong by Sarah Holman for FREE!

18 thoughts on “five fall favorites // my top 5 buddy-read books

  1. Girl, I got BBW because of you and I’m so glad. I just reread it this month and I cried so much. Top fav book there ❤ also read the sequel and loved it too, so thanks….

    Haven’t read the others, but they’re all on my TBR. Specifically Mysterious Benedict, because everyone loves that…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, I have Beautiful Blue World on my tbr shelf already!
    I remember my aunt suggested a fun fantasy MG series awhile back (the author is also a Christian) it’s called the Dream Keeper Saga. I haven’t had a chance to try it yet, but it looks interesting. I’ll rec it to you on GR, if you like.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Book three is my favorite to. ❤ Beauitful Blue World remains one of my favoritre buddy reads ever. I've read Wings of a dream with two of my siblings it just. so. good!
    *hugs* I'm always happy to buddy read witih you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.