Five Fall Favorites // Top 5 Mystery Reads

Five Fall Favorites // Top 5 Mystery Reads

Happy Day 3 of Five Fall Favorites! I’m having so much fun adding books to my TBR that I fear it’s going to be happily unattainable. 😉

Today is a very mysterious one… a.k.a. we’re talking about the genre Mystery! *dons mysterious thinking cap and looks thoughtful when my mind is actually full of pastries* Whodunnit, was it stolen or misplaced? Is this a case of a mistaken identity or a secret one?

Today we’re sharing our top 5 mystery books… (With some bloggers choosing an alternate genre. 😉 )

The game is on!

Katja 🍁 // Abigail 📚 // Kelsey ☕️ // Lillian 🍂

Sarah🧣// Bella 🥧 // Jana ☕️ // Ryana Lynn🧣// Mac 📚

Sophia Ellen 🍁 // Heaven 📚 // Hannah 🥧 // Mikayla 🍂

My Top 5 Favorite Mystery Reads

1. Red Rover, Red Rover by Perry Elisabeth Kirkpatrick

I can only mention the first book here, but the entire series is brilliant and you should definitely check it out and be warned you may become a shipper and a diehard fan and there is no coming back from this. 😁 I love me a good amateur detective book, but this one is especially amazing for its clean content, humor, and satisfying mystery. (Read my review.)

2. The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

Another classic I experienced as an adult (and I’m glad because child me would have been too spooked), and while I absolutely loved the twisty mystery, I was also exceedingly impressed with how well the author handled such a huge cast of characters. I’m kinda nerd like that. 😉 (Read my review.)

3. The ABC Murders by Agathe Christie

(Can we appreciate how if you read that wrong it looks like Agatha Christie did the murders?) I have been on an Agatha Christie mystery kick this year, and this second one I’ve ever read. It was absolutely fantastic, a little creepy, and still managed to place a high value on human life. (Read my review.)

4. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I knew nothing about this book except that it was spooky and Victorian but no one told me that the characters were Jewish and it’s absolutely amazing?!! I’m a more sensitive reader, so one aspect of the special powers did gross me out, but it was mostly fine and definitely worth it. 😉 (Read my review.)

5. Sweet on You by Chautona Havig

Amateur detectives for the win! This series is really quite fun (though not without its serious justice moments). My favorite aspect is how Madeline picks up detective skills as the series progresses instead of automatically being good at everything. 😉 Also, Russell. (Read my review.)

Grand Prize giveaway!

Most books are contributions by participating authors. Ships to contiguous US only. Winner will have 48 hours to respond after being contacted.

ENTER HERE!

Grab on Amazon!

How is the party going for you? Have you found any new books you’re excited about?

23 thoughts on “Five Fall Favorites // Top 5 Mystery Reads

  1. Oh, I’ve read Sweet on You! That was an interesting book, and I’d like to check out the rest of the series. Also, I need to read Agatha Christie, because I am a mystery fan but haven’t read her stuff yet (horrors!). And YESSS EMILY ABBOTT!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Niiice! The series gets better and better as Madeline grows in detective skills and her faith, so definitely continue. 😉 Oh, wow! No judgement here (especially since I just began her stuff this year), but I think you’d love her stuff. YESSSSSS. It’s basically national Emily Abbott day, is what I’m getting. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re making me want to read the Emily Abbott series again!!!! 😀 And I want the 9th book!!! Is Perry making any progress on it? My niece and I are both waiting rather impatiently. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Lol, that is so funny how it could look like Agatha Christie did the murders!!! XD I never notice that till you pointed it out. 😀 Her books are practically masterclasses in suspense and red herrings!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. All of them?! Lol, I’d start with The Agency Files if you haven’t read them already, they are quite like the Emily Abbott books and Aggie’s series is so good too. Followed by the Marriage of Convection series.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. I loved the pro-life themes in Tait, it’s just so good! They all are but Tait is my favorite… Maybe my second favorite of all of her books only behind the first Agency Files book.

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, it does look like Agatha Christie did the murders XD.

    I can’t believe we’re already halfway through the party *sobs* But I’ve been having so much fun! Thanks for these recs, Kate. I actually have Red Rover on my Kindle….somewhere *sorts through all the ebooks that I’ve gotten deals on in the past* XD. (Ooo, and the Westing Game was a mind-bender!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.