Second Chances Book-Blogger Tag

Second Chances Book-Blogger Tag

We all love second chances, right? We also all love books. (If you don’t love books, what are you doing here? πŸ˜› ) Welcome to a blog tag that combines both of them. πŸ˜‰

second_chance_book_blogger_tag_anna

Name a book you expected to dislike but ended up loving because you stuck with it to the end.Β 

Earlier this year, I was asked to review a new release by an Indie Christian author. It looked very sweet, but I was nervous about reading it since one of the themes is a very hard (but realistic) topic. I started reading. I talked about it with my mom a lot while I read, checking things with her, telling her what I thought about them, and asking her advice to see if I should finish it. I ended up being very pleased with the book and blessed by the story. While it’s not a topic I would like to read about every day, I was impressed by how the author handled it. πŸ˜‰

318410351

This book was Martin Hospitality by Abigayle Claire. (And it’s totally okay if you misread the title as “Martian” because I always do. πŸ˜› )

Admit it–we all judge books by their covers. What is one book you’ve given a try and enjoyed despite a less-than-appealing cover?

Mwahaha, a question we are all afraid to answer. πŸ˜‰ A few years ago, I launched into an Indie fantasy novel, cringing at the cover. (I hate saying that, but the cover has been changed to an extremely gorgeous one now, so it’s okay.) πŸ˜‰ I think it helped that I was reading it on a Kindle and didn’t have to look at it every time I read, but it’s mainly because the book was SO. AMAZINGLY. MIND-BLOWINGLY. FUN. πŸ˜€

That book happened to be Water Princess, Fire Prince by Kendra Ardnek.Β 

24022364

(First cover)

36458513

(New cover!! πŸ˜€ ❀ ❀ )

Ranting opportunity! Which author are you forever mad at for denying a character their second chance? Talk about it. πŸ˜€

Hmmm… I almost don’t have an answer for this one. I am still a little bit upset about Charlie from Rose in Bloom by Louisa May Alcott. (But the author did give him a ton of chances, soooo…? πŸ˜€ )

Do you have a favorite book that includes a theme of second chances?

Yes, I do.

Oh, you want to hear about it?

Google defines “second chances” as an opportunity to try something again after failing one time. In this instance, I’m defining it a little more as forgiving and forgetting. πŸ˜‰ This book is chock full of forgiveness. It’s often veeeeryΒ hard for the characters to do, but I think that makes it all the more compelling. πŸ˜‰

35712311

And this book is Crossroads by Paul Willis. πŸ˜‰

Bonus question: Name a favorite fictional romance that only succeeded because the characters were willing to let go of their first impressions and move on.Β 

Okay, major SPOILERS here. RUNAWAY if you haven’t read Rose in Bloom by Louisa May Alcott.Β But if you’re as crazy about Rose and her “Don Quixote” as I am–STAY. πŸ˜€ Aren’t they just the best??! I love the way their relationship grows. ❀

Those are the questions and my answers! Now it’s tagging time!

1245c2d9f1e10acbe25c956296c4dc73

0dd245ea4405e8349667f196c03fdfa2

I tag Victoria Lynn at Ruffles and Grace, Lydia Howe at Noveltea, and Maggie Joy at My Attic Corner. Also, anyone else who wants to join in is quite welcome to! Just put the link to your post in the comments so we can see your answers. (You are also welcome to steal the featured image.) πŸ˜‰

16 thoughts on “Second Chances Book-Blogger Tag

  1. That was super fun to read. I felt the same way about Martin Hospitality. Also I am super glad I am not the only one who misread the title! ;P
    Rose in Bloom *Hugs the beautiful book* that is my second favorite LMA. Rose and her guy are one of my favorite fictional couples. =)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Aww! Thank you so much for tagging me! These look like some fun questions. πŸ™‚ I decided to do the tag as a vlog, and I filmed it today and plan on posting it on Thursday. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.