my favorite books for the first quarter

my favorite books for the first quarter

I’ve read 39 (!!) books so far this year, but only a handful have landed on my Goodreads “favorites” shelf. This honor is bestowed upon the best of the best, the cutest of the cute, the helpfulest of helpfulness. Or the ones that stick with me the most in their entertainment and encouragement. 😉

January

The Only Girl in Town by Ally Condie was one of my most anticipated releases last year, and you bet I read it as soon as I could get it from the library. It’s just sooo good, and reminded me why I love this author and her deep themes. Check out my review.

The Lost Library by Rebecca Stead and Wendy Mass has lived rent-free in my mind for months now. In fact, I think I need my own copy soon, since I borrowed it from my library. (How apropos.) It has ghosts and books and community and a fabulous cat, pretty much everything you’d want in a good book. Read my review.

And then there’s A Thousand Heartbeats by Kiera Cass, the one that had me metaphorically giggling and kicking my feet and rooting for my messed-up cuties to have their happily-ever-after. For more screeching, read my review.

February

Dungeons and Drama by Kristy Boyce was good, clean fun, and really cute. I loved the basis in real life too, and it was the perfect companion during the Superbowl. 😉 Read my review here.

Ways to Make Sunshine by Renée Watson reminded me of my childhood and has me eager to read the rest of the series. This is one I hope to share with children someday. ❤ Check out my review.

March

Codependent No More by Melody Beattie, aka a book I’ve mentioned a few times now, I feel like. It was assigned to me in therapy and was both easy to read and life-changing. For more, read my review.

The Wild Robot by Peter Brown was just the loveliest of reads. It’s so gentle yet thought-provoking, and I’m looking forward to the sequel and the movie. Read my (short) review.

These are just some of the books I’ve enjoyed this year, and I’m hoping for many more! 😉 What are your favorites?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.