Top 5 Favorite Christian Contemporaries

Top 5 Favorite Christian Contemporaries

FFF banner

We interrupt this book recommending fest to remind you that…

FFFprize2

…this is the Grand Prize!! ❤ ❤

I don’t know about you, but that stack looks pretty awesome to me. 😉

Gift from the Storm by Rebekah Morris
Bound by Victoria Lynn
Kiera by Kate Willis
Love Needs No Words by Faith Potts
A Five Fall Favorites mug (designed by Rebekah Morris, created and donated by Salsa and Tea)
Okay, now back to books. 😀
I love stories set in my time period with strong Christian messages I can relate to. It’s hard for me to find books in this genre, but I do have some favorites to share. 😉 (And if you have any favorites, please comment with ’em! I need a taller TBR mountain. :P)
threelittlewords.jpg
It was free, my friends liked it, I wanted something cute to read. Basically, the story of how I ended up reading Three Little Words, an adorably fantastic novella by Melissa Tagg. This book is a romance, but a friendship-based one (which is always my favorite). (Read my fangirl-y review here.)
atthechristmaslodge.jpg
At the Christmas Lodge by Rebekah Morris is one of my favorite Christmas short stories. This book was light and cozy but also didn’t skip over the true meaning of Christmas. (Read my review here.)

 

I am entirely in love with the Kate’s Case Files series by Sarah Holman. I’ve only read (and re-read and shared with Anna and shared with Paul) Kate’s Innocence and Kate’s Capitol so far, but that’s only because I’m trying to be a good girl and not spend every last cent I get. (I will buy you soon, my precious.) Clean mysteries, super cool contemporaries, compelling characters, and Spiritual themes that talk Right. To. Me… Pretty cool. 😉

Read my review of Book #1 here. 

Read my review of Book #2 here.

giftfromthestorm.jpg
(Oh, look. This happens to be part of the Grand Prize. :D) Gift from the Storm by Rebekah Morris is *probably* my absolute favorite of her titles. I loved the characters, found the mystery quite exciting, and yes, it’s another cozy, winter-y read. 😉 It’s also a story of compassion and hope in Christ. (Read my full review here.)

FFF - bonfiresThose are my favorite Christian contemporary reads that have been published in the last five years. 😉

I also love the feel of bonfires and roasted marshmallows, and now my mind is spinning with ideas for a contemporary book with s’mores in it because that would be double awesome. 😀

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway and read everyone else’s posts! (I know I’ll be stalking them because I need more contemporaries to read.) 😀

Do you have a favorite contemporary book?

41 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Christian Contemporaries

  1. I haven’t read any of those!!! And I’m surprised about the Rebekah Morris ones, because I get so hyped up about hers!!! 😀 *adds them to list*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely books, Kate. 🙂 I’ve read every single one of them. *tosses more sticks on the bonfire* *decides to relax a little before going off to hunt for more new books to read, or at least add to my TBR shelf*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t read much contemporary either, and some of these sound really good! Definitely adding to that ever growing TBR pile! My favourite contemporary (if you can call it that….I’m not sure!) is Chris Fabry’s “Junebug”, or his book “Every Waking Moment”. Both are good, but Junebug is my favourite of the two. It does have some mature themes in it….nothing bad, from what I remember, just mature. I would say 15+ aged readers.

    There’s also another one that I adore, that was recently published. I *think* the title is “Kiera”, but again, I’m not sure if it’s considered contemporary 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. At Christmas Lodge was one of my first Rebekah Morris books and it’s super light romance is what made me fall in love with her style. =D Gift From the Storm was pretty awesome to!
    But the Kate series is the best. It’s my favorite kind of book. *Happy sigh* I love your list!
    -Mikayla-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eeek, really?! That’s an awesome one to start with. ❤

      Yes, I agree! They're so interesting and clean and convicting and cool characters and… I could go re-read them right now. 😛 😉

      Like

  5. A contemporary book I really want to read is A Thousand Perfect Notes. I keep hearing about how amazing it is, and desperately want it because I know the author who wrote it through her blog!! (Cait is amazing 😉) (Her blog is called Paper Fury, if you’re wondering)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It makes me really happy to see a Christmas story on here! Autumn and winter are slow in coming where I live, and I can’t wait for cool air and Christmas decorations. I might have to break down and read At the Christmas Lodge soon even though it’s only October 😂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I would love to read all those Indie books! (Especially Gift from the Storm in paperback …. ;)) The Kate’s Case Files series has always looked interesting.

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Contemporary genre I mostly have read in children’s books and you Indies’ books. “Bound” by Victoria Lynn is contemporary and super interesting. 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too! I love children’s books. I love scouring the library for new releases in the middle grade genre. ❤ (What is your favorite children's book?) Oh, really?!! That's awesome. I still need to read it someday. 😉

      Like

    1. *high five* I hope you get to read them soon! I guess the fourth one is set in autumn (which is pretty cool), so I kinda have a goal of reading that one before winter. 😉

      Like

    1. Aaaahhh!!! This is so relatable. 😛 I was looking at my Goodreads TBR list yesterday, and I realized I still haven’t read the first book I marked as to-read on there. XD But hey, I cut down the list so now it’s under 600. XD

      These are definitely worth reading, though! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.