my mini-reviews of current Doctor Who (episodes 6-8, the finale!)

my mini-reviews of current Doctor Who (episodes 6-8, the finale!)

I’m back again with mini-reviews of the Ncuti Gatwa era! 😉 Reminder: all these episodes are available on Disney+.

S1:E6: Rogue ⭐⭐⭐

Oh my Bridgerton! The regency vibes and the alien concept in this were so. Much. fun. You’d think with such a light episode there wouldn’t be very Doctor-y moments, but there were. The part where he talks with Rogue in the TARDIS was especially fabulous character development. And Ruby accidentally introducing feminism was great. I did feel like the romance was rushed in places and lacking chemistry on one side.

CW: The aliens wither their victims. There is a gay romance with a prolonged kiss.

S1:E7: The Legend of Ruby Sunday ⭐⭐⭐

Never has a VHS tape been so fascinating! I really loved the visual aspect of the time window and both the Ruby and the old woman mysteries coming to a head. The fact that her mum demanded to be there was fabulous too! Morris was a great addition to the team, and I’m always down for anything UNIT. A good cliffhanger too!

CW: The villain is considered a “god” and possesses characters to speak with a creepy voice. A trans character is present.

S1:E8: Empire of Death ⭐⭐⭐⭐

An epic second part and a satisfying end to *most* threads from the series (who is Mrs. Flood, though?). I found the answer to Ruby’s mystery both refreshing and verrrry on brand for what I love about the show, and yes, I cried! The way they beat the villain was a bit silly, but I liked it and felt that it let the emotional threads really shine. The whole thing with the spoon, though. *cries*

CW: The “god” villain continues to possess characters and turns others to dust. Allusions to teen pregnancy and a bad home life.

There you go! That concludes my series (check out the other two posts) of reviewing Doctor Who this season. 😉 I’m so excited for the Christmas special later this year, and it’s been great to watch one of my favorite shows in real time.

Have you watched any Doctor Who?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.