Second Draft Crazies

I did Camp NaNoWriMo again this month! My goal was to accomplish 10,000 words of revisions to my WIP “Kiera”.

Between releasing The Twin Arrows, celebrating Independence Day, and selling books at the homeschool convention, I only wrote fourteen days this month; but I’m happy to say I made my goal! πŸ˜€

KateJulywinnerCamp

It’s been really neat to dive back into this story. I’m getting to flesh out characters, add meaningful description, and even include a little foreshadowing. *grins evilly* And of course I like spending time with my characters. πŸ˜€

I can’t share pictures directly from Pinterest here, but if you look at my board you can see my inspiration and try to intuit spoilers. πŸ˜‰

I’ve been getting to laugh at “First Draft Katie” a bit too. I had the story set in spring AND summer. How even??! I used my word count tracking calendars from my WriteMind planner to plan out the time my story takes place in. Hopefully this fixed the problem once and for all. πŸ˜‰

IMG_20170731_195224

One of the scariest changes I’ve made to my story was splitting the first three chapters into six when I realized they were much longer than my other ones. Who wants to read chapters that are 15 pages long? Not me. πŸ˜‰ I’m hoping this will also help me title them more easily.

Two things I’m looking forward to (besides finishing) are…

1. Possibly having a real title for this novel soon!! I’m not quite ready to announce yet, but EEEK! πŸ˜€

2. Adding four scenes that will beef up the story and build the characters a little more.

Thanks so much to my delightful cabin “The Chatter Box Girls” and some other writers from church for your encouragement and word sprinting! πŸ˜‰

Now… Would you like a very short excerpt? Kiera’s brother Thorne just heard that they will be babysitting a little girl named Jade that evening. This conversation happens. πŸ˜‰

β€œI’m delighted that Jade’s coming,” Thorne said. β€œThis place needs livening up; you’re getting too old.” He gave her an innocent face over his glass as he drained it.

Kiera shook her head in amusement. β€œWhat would I do without my oldest brother?”

β€œMiss your annual birthday chocolate, maybe?” He winked and pulled a small flat package out of his pocket.

The doorbell interrupted before she could take it. β€œOkay, you’re my hero, and I forgive you for everything, I think.”

Did you do Camp NaNoWriMo? How did it go?

13 thoughts on “Second Draft Crazies

  1. WHOO!! Congrats on reaching your goal, Kate! ‘Kiera’ sounds so cool, and I can’t wait till you release the real title. =D
    And NaNo went well for me- my goal was 20,000, and I reached 36,000. Could have gotten to 40,000, but we’re on vacation so I’m taking a break. πŸ˜› ‘Jump’ is coming along well though!
    God bless, and happy August. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Angela! πŸ˜€ I think you just might like this title.

      Wow!!! Great job! That’s a ton of words even with a busy month! “Jump” is a great title. Is that the final one or just a working title?

      You too! πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for asking! NaNoWriMo is an event that takes place annually during the month of November when authors all over the world set the goal of writing 50,000 words in 30 days. I have yet to do it myself, but it looks like a ton of fun! πŸ˜€

      Camp NaNoWriMo is an offshoot event/website that has sessions in April and July. These are different mainly in their goal. You can set your goal for whatever number of hours, minutes, pages, or words you plan to write that month. Instead of being limited to writing a novel, you can use it to write or revise just about anything. (One of my friends used it for a movie script!) You can also put together an online chat room a.k.a. cabin or join one. πŸ˜‰

      These aren’t really competitions with a winner, but instead a way of setting a goal and cheering each other on. Many people find it’s good for getting them motivated to write. πŸ˜‰

      I hope you can join next time!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I only got 10 days of writing in. πŸ˜› Pitiful. But I had other things going on. I often have to make/print a calendar for my stories. I don’t usually plot them ahead of time, but as things happen, I jot them down so I know how long ago the picnic was, and what day of the week they went to the barn. Things like that. It helps so much! It also can help keep track of things like when they painted the library. πŸ˜› Yes, in one of my stories they painted the library 3 times because I didn’t have a calendar printed to keep track of it! (Don’t worry, I did fix it.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Look at it this way, you wrote 1/3 out of the whole month. πŸ˜€ That sounds much better.

      It’s neat to hear that you use calendars too. This is my first time, and I am enjoying it. Ha, ha! That’s hilarious!! It makes me feel better to know that other authors make just as funny mistakes.

      Like

      1. Yes, 1/3 sounds much better. πŸ™‚
        It is nice to know other authors make their characters do strange things accidentally. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on winning Camp Nano!!! πŸŽ‰ That’s awesome that you were able to get some good writing in! And eeeep I love the snippet. Chocolate mends all πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Zane! πŸ˜€ Ha, ha! It was making me so hungry to write it. Authors should never give their characters chocolate when they don’t have any themselves. πŸ˜‰ Glad you enjoyed it!

      Like

  4. Congrats on reaching your goal, Kate!

    Your spring/summer problems reminds me, I’m going to *have* to sit down with a calendar myself and make sure I’ve got that kind of thing straight in my own stories!

    Ooooh, Pinterest! *scampers off to follow Kate and try to intuit things* *intuits that the story could possibly make her cry* *wants to read it* πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, E.F.B.!

      You won’t regret it! I wish I had done it earlier in the process of this story. πŸ˜‰ And it so much fun to see your characters “lives” laid out!

      Aw, thanks! *drops voice to a whisper* It’s actually been making me cry a bit as I write it. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

