Sarah Holman Interview

D&D Blog Tour

Today I’m excited to be interviewing author Sarah Holman and introducing you to her latest book in the Tales of Taelis series! 😉

Cover

“Some dreams will be dashed, and their devotion will be tested.

Dara’s life is full of farm work and worries, especially now that her older brother is a priest in a far off city. Yet she still has time to dream of the life she hopes will someday be. She dreams of marrying her dear friend and the worries of her family ending. Now, the selfishness of one person threatens her very way of life.

Dresden’s initial excitement about living a life devoted to the service of God quickly is dashed on the rocks of reality. The life of a priest is nothing like what he imagined. To make matters worse, he finds out his family back in his home village is on the brink of disaster. Torn between his vows and his love for his family, what will he choose?”

(Buy the book for the special pre-order price here.)

There also happens to be a very awesome giveaway!

Givaway.jpg

Enter it HERE! 😀

Author Photo

Sarah Holman is a not so typical mid-twenties girl: a homeschool graduate, sister to six awesome siblings, and author of many published books and short stories. If there is anything adventuresome about her life, it is because she serves a God with a destiny bigger than anything she could have imagined. Find her at www.thedestinyofone.com.

And now you get to know her a little bit better with this interview. 😉 Join me in welcoming author Sarah Holman to Once Upon an Ordinary!

Sarah, tell us a bit about yourself.

When people walk into my room, they see a lot of books. When they ask me about it I shrug and say:

“What do you expect from the daughter of two story addicts?” We are a family of avid readers and I have to say I think I got more than my fair share of story obsessiveness. I like hearing people talk about stories, I read constantly, and even when I am out in town, I watch people and try to imagine their stories.

When I’m not doing anything with stories, it is usually because I am hanging out with my awesome siblings, taking my morning run, or working on a quilt

What first made you decide you wanted to be an author? 

I was always making up stories, but at eleven I hit a point where I couldn’t find anything I wanted to read. I found the books written for my age simple and silly. I was ready for more but not quite the ready for adult books. So I started writing the books I wanted to read. I based Brothers and Betrayal after the first book I ever wrote.

Would you introduce us to the Tales of Taelis series in general and Dreams and Devotions specifically? (And congrats on having a four book series!)
Taelis is a fictional country in Europe where many wonderful adventures take place. In each of the books, I tell tales (actually, Zale does), of adventure, faith, and young people. This is a series that I am writing to kids ages 10-15 (although a wider range has enjoyed it) to give them deep stories that challenge them but are safe to read.

Dreams and Devotion is about a young man who has just become a priest and his sister. Separated by many miles, they both face hardships of their own, along with someone hurting them deeply. It was a difficult story to write. However, it has become one of my favorites.

What is your favorite aspect of the ordinary life God has blessed you with?
My family. Living every day with them is such a blessing. It is like living with your best friends all the time. They give me so much material for a story and are there for me through everything.
Any plans for further projects?

Oh yes! I have the rest of the alphabet before me. Escape and Endurance is already written and I am half-way through the book based off the letter F (no title yet). Grace and Grumbling has a clear plot, and I have some ideas for almost all the other letters. There are many more tales Taelis has to offer.

I look forward to reading them! Thank you so much for coming! 

 

 Be sure to check out this amazing series and hop on the rest of blog tour!

July 8

Bookish Orchestrations ~ Faith Blum

July 9

His Princess Warrior ~ Katie Hamilton

July 10

In the Book Case ~ Tarissa Graves

Jessica Greyson ~ Jessica Greyson

July 11

Gods Peculiar Treasure Rae ~ Raechel

Read Another Page ~Rebekah Morris

July 12

Whimsical Writings For His Glory ~ Jesseca Dawn

Shannon McDermott ~ Shannon McDermott

July 13

The Page Dreamer ~ Deborah O’Carroll

July 14

Knitted by God’s Plans ~ Kendra E. Ardnek

With a Joyful Noise ~ Amanda Tero

Once Upon an Ordinary ~ Kate Willis

July 15

Jaye L. Knight ~ Jaye L. Knight

3 thoughts on “Sarah Holman Interview

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Sarah does so many interviews on Homeschooled Authors, that I’ve been wanting to interview her for a long time. 😉 Yes! Makes me curious and excited to know that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

