All The Reasons I Love Book Journaling

Last year around that delightful back-to-school time when all the notebooks are ridiculously cheap and authors and graduates get ridiculously excited, my dad gave us each a green notebook. The idea was for us to write down a few key ideas or questions from what we read throughout the day to discuss with him later.

It sounded like an extremely fun idea, and we all set to work personalizing our notebooks. I pulled every writing/reading quote I could think of off the top of my head and happily Sharpie-d them on the cover. (Complete with a dog paw, because Snoopy is a writer. ❀ )

And then I started filling it. (Warning: don’t ever do this if you are afraid of knowing how much you read. Also, don’t join Goodreads. Also, while you’re at it, don’t have a happy life.) Bible reading, beta-reading, library finds, everything got an entry in my notebook when I had finished it. Once in awhile I even copied down a particular quote to share.

We had some good conversations because of that notebook. πŸ˜‰ I used up the last page a few months ago, but I decided to keep journaling.

And here are all the reasons (besides sharing great conversation πŸ˜€ ) I’ve discovered that I love book journaling.

  1. I get to use a notebook (or better yet, a real journal). What better reason? πŸ˜€
  2. It’s entirely book related. I don’t have to skim through what I ate for lunch on a sunny Tuesday last year to find out what I thought of the one million page long classic. It’s like a book of mini (or really long if it’s fangirling time) reviews. Which can be really helpful for memory jogging when I’m behind on real reviews. πŸ˜›
  3. It counts as writing every day, which is extra special.
  4. The more notebooks I fill the more covers I get to decorate. I have plans for this next one. πŸ˜€
  5. I can be as honest, playful, fangirl-y, and quote-crazy as I want! Journals are for saying what you think, in a God-honoring way of course. πŸ˜‰
  6. It also makes me slow down and observe what I’m reading since I’m going to need to write something about it later. This is especially good in the Bible reading area; and yes, I still do write down questions for my dad even though this isn’t that original notebook. πŸ˜‰

I do have to keep in mind though that if I don’t keep my notebook handy, write my thoughts immediately, and keep them short–this probably won’t happen and I’ll miss out on one of my favorite things. (Which is sad. And I want to decorate another notebook, so I don’t want to let that happen again. πŸ˜› )

What about you? Do you enjoy book journaling? Or have you never tried and need to now? πŸ˜€

6 thoughts on “All The Reasons I Love Book Journaling

Leave a Reply

