Book Review: Rose of the Night

35180534“Behind every beast, there is a curse.
Behind every curse, there is a promise.
Behind every promise, there is a sacrifice.

Over two hundred years before the one he’d know as Beauty was born, Adrian risks all in an attempt to win the heart of the one he loves. Instead, he dooms himself and the rest of Aslaria. Blood and tears weave a legend of hope and sorrow, love and betrayal. Alive only because of the mercy granted by the King, Adrian dedicates himself to the only task that now matters. A mission to undo the night he has caused.

A prequel to Rose of the Oath, this is a timeless tale of a forbidden rose and the smooth voice of a masked stranger. A story of rebellion and despair and love. A story of a promise given and of a hope received.

The story of the Oathkeeper.” (from Goodreads)

Good news–I officially have another favorite author! 😉 This is Hope Ann’s best book yet. (Which I usually think about the most recent one, because they seem to just get better and better.) This allegorical novelette is about the rebellion of mankind and the promise of the King. Somehow despite the very sad theme, it was still so full of hope and light, causing me to love and wonder at the mercy of God. With the rich allegory and lush descriptions characteristic to this series, it was such a beautiful book to read. 😉 Just a note that there are a couple scenes including death by wolf attacks and stabbing that get a little descriptive.

Best quotes: MAJOR SPOILER ALERT! “Adrian.” The King shook His head. His fingers lifted my chin, forcing me to stare into His eyes. “I love you yet, My son.” END OF SPOILER!

Altogether, I loved this so much, but my poor dear Adrian deserves more story. I’m very happy that this leads directly into Rose of the Oath. Excuse me while I go read… 😀

Leave a Reply

