My Summer Reading Stack

Summer is just around the corner! In fact, we just had a heat advisory today. Welcome to the desert southwest. πŸ˜‰

One of the best things about summer is the library reading program. Booklovers/dragons/worms/bugs/bloggers/geeks like me don’t need any incentive to read, but I think it’s fun to log hours and possibly win a free book at the end. (I know. Free. Book.) So I made my account on our library site yesterday complete with an adorable avatar (wearing a fez no less). My younger sisters are participating too which is extra fun. πŸ˜‰

I never know what library books or review copies will run across my path, but I decided to create a summer reading list of a few books I definitely want to read in the next few months. (And I broke it into categories because I’m like that.) πŸ˜‰

Want to see? πŸ˜€

IMG_20170602_160148654

Nonfiction

I’m always telling myself, “You should read more non-fiction, Katie-dear. Be a good girl.” And I really do want to. πŸ˜€

I’ve been interested in The Pursuit of Holiness by Jerry Bridges for a long time now. I was too young to understand it the last time I tried it, but it’s most certainly time to try again. I hear it’s quite the treasure, and it comes highly recommended by my pastor-dad. πŸ˜‰

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain is one I started listening to on audio earlier this year while recovering from oral surgery. (Envy me.) I really enjoyed what I heard and recently picked it up in hardback to continue reading. I plan to finish it as long as itΒ doesn’t get too secular or psychological. πŸ˜‰

Fiction

Happy sigh.

I started At Home in Mitford by Jan Karon recently and loved even just the little bit I got to read. It’s so cozy and reminds me of a sweet little town I grew up in. πŸ˜‰ I look forward to getting back into it again.

My mom happily edited The Martian by Andy Weir for me (at my request) after I highly enjoyed the (filtered) movie. It promises to be very fun. πŸ˜‰ Humorous and technical and nerdy? I’m looking forward to it.

Re-reads

I don’t do this often enough which is why I planned it. πŸ˜‰ It’s always fun to visit with old friends.

One of my quests this year is to re-read and review the Books of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau and The People of Sparks happens to be next. Even though it’s not the most cheerful or exciting book in the series, I found it thought provoking and look forward to rediscovering it.

The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy is on here because. Because disguises, because Blakeney, because brilliance. πŸ˜€ Skim-read the French Revolution and it’s one of the best books ever. I’ll be reading it on my Kindle which means lots of highlighting brilliant quotes. πŸ˜‰

So this is what I hope to be reading as I devour popsicles in my air conditioned fortress and beat the heat.

What are your planning to read? What is your favorite popsicle flavor? (Will you share one?)

8 thoughts on “My Summer Reading Stack

  1. Kate, I’m doing the reading thing too: ) So excited for this. My younger brother and sister are doing it as well, and up till june 1st, my brother would be like, “Ate Jazzy, only 4 more days until we start the reading program!!!” xD He was so nervous and excited lol.

    I’m planning to catch up in reading the books on my bookshelf lol. The only books on my shelf are literally the ones I haven’t read yet, and the rest are in boxes beneath my bed hahaha! It’s really terrible. And then, here I am getting books from the library and listening to audiobooks. . . So yea, it’s pretty much time for me to actually read what’s on my shelf πŸ™‚

    And idk I like Popsicles, just so long as I do get one xD But I absolutely will NOT share one, that’s disgusting and unsanitary, even if it’s “family germs”… I’d rather just have one lick and give it all to them haha. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, that’s so fun. πŸ˜‰ I love doing challenges with my siblings. Some friendly competition/encouragement.

      I’m not the only one who has books on my shelf I’ve never read???!! πŸ˜€ Between the library and shiny new review copies, I can get pretty distracted. πŸ˜› I love your goal! Sounds like a ton of fun!

      Bwahahaha!!!! I meant, may I please have a popsicle from your box of them. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a delightful stack of summer reading!! “Quiet” is on my one-day reading list too, and “The Pursuit of Holiness” is a really good, very impacting for one’s spiritual growth.

    I have several books planned for the summer myself. I’m currently reading some refreshing nonfiction, “The Magnolia Story” by Chip and Joanna Gaines. I hope to read some classics such as “The Thin Man” and “The Hunchback of Notre Dame”. But specifically in June I’m hosting a Louisa May Alcott challenge on my blog, so for that I’m reading one of Alcott’s short story collections and also a biography about her. (If you would be interested in participating in this reading challenge, please do stop by my blog! Everyone can choose their own titles.)

    “The Scarlet Pimpernel” sounds like an intriguing one. I’ve wanted to read it for several years, and still haven’t gotten to it yet. Good luck though with your reading! πŸ™‚

    Tarissa
    http://inthebookcase.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! We’ll have to compare notes sometime when we both finish it. πŸ˜‰ Oh that’s really good to hear! It covers an issue I often wonder about, so I’m looking forward to it.

      “The Magnolia Story” is quite the book, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰ I got to read it a few months ago and really enjoyed it. I’ve heard of one of those, but not “The Thin Man”. Who wrote it? That’s a cool idea! I’ll have to go take a look. πŸ˜‰

      You might really enjoy it! It’s quite exciting and mysterious. πŸ˜‰ Thanks so much!!

      Like

      1. Oh yes, the β€œThe Magnolia Story” has been a beautiful book to read. I’m about 2/3 done now. Already I cringe for the moment when I finish it, and it’s over. πŸ™‚

        Now β€œThe Thin Man” is a detective book by Dashiell Hammett, probably published back in the 30’s. I’m interested in reading it because my brother and I have watched all of the β€œThe Thin Man” movies that where filmed in the latter part of the 30’s decade. We really enjoyed those, so I hope the book will be just as good.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aw, I know. There are some books that should just never end! But at least you can watch their show when you’re done, right?

        Ooo! I love detective books. I’ll have to go research this one on Goodreads. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the accidental recommendation. πŸ˜€

        Like

Leave a Reply

