Plate Update: Edward Bear, Beta-Readers, and Arrows

For some reason, for the last few weeks of May I never knew what day it was. Quite the confusingly busy month, but several amazing things have happened!

It doesn’t feel quite fair to do the last month’s update on it’s very last day, but that’s just how the blogging schedule worked out. ๐Ÿ˜› Hereโ€™s a quick update on what I did last month. This full plateย felt a lot like spring trying to be summer, and there was plenty of ice cream necessary to our survival. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Beta-read and read for review:

“Agent C” by Malachi Cyr (find project updates here)

The Secret Slipper (four stars)

Pleasure read:

The 100-Year-Old Secret (three stars)

Martin and Marco (four stars)

Matched (three stars)

The World of Pooh (five stars and one heart)

Rogue One (three stars)

Henry and the Chalk Dragon (four stars and a lot of smiles)

Just a few more Sherlock Holmes stories to read and then I have to write you all a HUGE review. This collection has been so much fun. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Answered:

Interview questions for a spotlight in the Wordquill newsletter

Beta-reader comments โค

Emails! (Most of them related to an upcoming blog party!!! I’ll tell you more soon…)

Googled:

How to make a Google Form

How to cook bacon in the oven (be jealous)

Yew, soft woods, etc.

Metal arrows

Age of majority in the Middle Ages

Metric equivalents (the things you forget from school…)

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s birthday (May 22nd

The case Sir Arthur Conan Doyle “solved”

Punctuating titles

Createspace questions

Scripture phrases (to find the address of the whole verse)

How to break glass quietly (for my brother’s story)

Arrow slits

Stop words in SEO

And I’m constantly looking up hyphens or no hyphens because the rules are way. too. fluid. ๐Ÿ˜›

Wrote:

Emessages (Sorry, I got bored of saying emails every time. ๐Ÿ˜› )

More on my collaborative story with Rebekah Morris

Homeschool transcripts

5,500 words on “The Memory Girl” a short(ish) story ๐Ÿ˜‰

Back cover blurb and “thank you” section for “The Twin Arrows”

A ton of story notes in my WriteMind planner (I just used my last story idea page!)

A post for Wordquill

Blog posts (the top five being Happy Birthday to a Best Buddy; 10 Books to Discover at Your Library;ย The Secret Slipper Review & Amanda Tero Interview; April Plate Update; and Camp NaNoWriMo Update #4)

Edited:

“The Twin Arrows”!!!ย (onย my own early in the month but withย my beta-readers for several weeks

I think I’m going to need to add a new category sometimes because this month I designed my own blog button (I’ll be sharing that with you on Monday), got author pictures taken (oh, horrors and hilarity!), and got my front cover for “The Twin Arrows” finalized!

Last month, I also celebrated a family birthday, visited with an adorable family from church, and celebrated Memorial Day by getting we with my family and some more friends in a water war! (I was mostly an innocent bystander, but I did fill a watergun and some water balloons so I did end up wet. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) We’ve be ableย to gather at the local Christian coffeeshop for writing twice officially and once another time which has been amazing. My dad bought me a new Bible since mine was falling apart dreadfully, and I’ve been enjoying having a fresh look at everything and underlining entire books. ๐Ÿ˜›

This next month (starts tomorrow!), I’m looking forward to the final editing stages of “The Twin Arrows” (and getting those ARCs sent!), a blog party, and preparing to have a book table at our homeschool convention. ๐Ÿ˜‰ย And we’ll see what else happens, because God seems to like surprises. ๐Ÿ˜€

How was your May?ย What are you looking forward to this month?

11 thoughts on “Plate Update: Edward Bear, Beta-Readers, and Arrows

  1. This is a definite reminder that I must start writing my May recap. *sighs* The months fly so fast, don’t they?
    Your “Googled” section is always amusing to me. “How to break glass quietly.” ๐Ÿ˜‚ That just seems like a brother thing!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, yes! But if time is flying, that must mean you are having fun, right? ๐Ÿ˜€

      Yeah, it’s good I’m a writer too otherwise I would have looked at him really strangely. ๐Ÿ˜› Glad you enjoyed it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Um, wait. It’s June? You mean May is over? Since when?!
    Thanks for the reminder that I need to write the next part of our story. ๐Ÿ˜› May was a slow writing month. Only 11k words written. Hopefully this month will be better.
    Oh, yes . . . The Party!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know. I’m in shock too. But this means it’s almost party time, and next month I get to work on “Kiera” some more, so in this case time passing is okay. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Here’s to a good writing month!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

