Thorns

The other night, I had myself pretty stressed out. Everything I needed to do, all the tiny, forgotten details, and the stacks of correspondence seemed to be closing in on me. Each second, I remembered two more things.

Last Sunday’s sermon was on the parable of the Sower. (And I got to read the Mark account later in the week.) I’ve heard it all before, but it was good to be reminded of which soil I am prone to being.

Thorns. The cares of this world. I was letting them “choke” me, steal my peace and joy, and make me cut corners on my relationship with Jesus like a regular Martha.

I don’t plan to throw my goals and deadlines away, but instead to make them His. I’ll let Him change them, I’ll tell Him about my worries and problems (and joys!), and I’llย make sure our “quality time” happens even in the busy-ness of life. ๐Ÿ˜‰

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”ย 

(Philippians 4:6-7)

9 thoughts on “Thorns

  1. Amen, Kate! This is right on. ๐Ÿ™‚ If we’re going to do something, it’s not really good to let fear, doubt, and panic set in- those aren’t what God gave us! Instead, we must stop and ask ‘is this something God wants me to do?’ and if it is yes, we must ask for peace and guidance to do our best! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing this post!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Almost the same thing happened to me Wednesday morning. I told my sister that my brain felt like some scientific experiment with flashing lights, whistles, and electric currents running every which way and the scientist staring at it with wide eyes and open mouth. Too much was happening! I have too many projects, books, class, things to do, to learn, to create, and everything wanted done RIGHT NOW! So, I know the feeling extremely well. I have to keep my mind focused Christ and what He wants me to do, or I know I’ll go crazy.

    And making a list of everything won’t hurt because then I know what can wait. ๐Ÿ™‚ Or what I can cross off completely. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow, yes! That’s the perfect description of what I was going through.

      Making a list is definitely a great practical way of “off-loading” all problems on to paper. I’ve found that they are even easier to pray over once I know exactly what they are. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

