Book Review: Left to Die

left-to-die-cover“Lindy Greene’s life is perfect. Too perfect. But living as a missionary nurse, serving in a rural hospital in China, soon brings the disaster she fearfully anticipates. All of her well-thought-out plans for the future disintegrate after pulling a fatally ill, disfigured, abandoned child from a pile of trash. She doesn’t even like babies.

Nathan Thomas can’t find balance. College suited him just fine until his cash ran out, forcing him to the Chinese mission field with his parents. The chaotic atmosphere in China does little to relax his agitated mind, and the pretty blonde nurse at the clinic does nothing to help him focus.

The Chinese mission field isn’t for the faint of heart. Nathan wonders how he can survive his remaining time there, while Lindy struggles to help everyone she can. With different ideals pulling them in separate directions, there is one thing drawing them together: a tiny, sickly, crippled orphan who relies on them to stay alive.” (from Goodreads)

I picked this book by Ivy Rose up with the intention of reading a few pages. You know, just to check it out and see if it was any good. I read the first third that night and finished it the next morning. I didn’t even have time to crow about it on Goodreads. In other words, it was good. 😉 As soon as sweet Jia-Bo entered the story, you couldn’t pay me to quit reading. She was such a darling little fighter, and I cheered Lindy on as she worked her hardest to save her. (All the medical jargon was pretty cool, and the author did a good job of making it understandable.) But oh, the place she found Jia was horrible! And the orphanage scene… *cries* The message of God aligning our will with His is really important to me, and I loved the outcome. 😀 (And can we talk about how cute Nathan babysitting Jia was??!!! ❤ ) Not recommended for younger readers because of thematic elements.

Best quote: Lindy nodded, a sigh escaping her lips. “I just needed a break from people.” “Oh, want me to leave?” She gave him a weak smile. “No. You don’t really count as people.”

Altogether, while this book was really cute and sweet, it was much more than that with some really knock-your-socks-off important themes. Definitely a new favorite. 😉

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Left to Die

  1. I absolutely LOVED this book! Adoption has always been something near and dear to my heart, so I just loved this! That orphanage scene though . . . I was literally sobbing on my bed; great big ugly tears. It reminded me of a very sad story about orphanages in China I had heard.

    ANYWAY! Such an amazing book! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t usually rave over books, but this one made me come pretty close to it. I agree with Sarah Grace, adoptions, orphans, children in need, have always been close to my heart. And yes, I’d be happy to go hold babies with you girls! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

