Writing Advice for Today

As I work through edits on my medieval adventure “The Twin Arrows”, I realize it’s been almost exactly three years since I’ve published a book. I’ve been spending time networking, figuring out my style, and learning all I can about my craft.

There is so much advice for authors, and I’ve only experienced a drop in the bucket. Articles, and books, and blogs, oh my!

An article I ran across today was by K.M. Weiland (love all her stuff!) on the issue of writing advice itself and how we take it. In her recent blog post “6 Bits of Common Writing Advice You’re Misusing” she says, “When taken out of context or used without wise moderation, even the best writing advice can sometimes accidentally point you in completely the wrong direction.”

She goes on to explain some of the bastions of writing wisdom, how we usually interpret them, and how they should actually be applied. 😉 Believe it or not, this one article is some of the best writing advice I’ve come across! It’s given me a lot to think about as I continue my writing journey. I highly suggest you read it. 😉

4 thoughts on “Writing Advice for Today

  1. As Jo March learned, you can’t please everyone all the time. Yep, it’s very easy to misuse advice when it comes to writing. Thanks for sharing that article.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing this article! There are so many writing books, websites, seminars, and even conferences that can be misleading when giving out writing advice, but this article explained what that advice should really mean to us and how to use it! I’m glad I read it! Thanks again!
    – Megan Joy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

