10 Books to Discover at Your Library

Does the library ever depress you? Not the library itself exactly (a room full of books is one of the best things in the world!), but the selection. I usually come home slightly frustrated, carrying books supposedly for a younger age group but adult enough for me, and ready to write a book of my own to combat the junkitude.

Since I discovered Homeschooled Authors three years ago, my fiction choices have shiftedΒ more toward books by independent Christian authors. But that often means buying them brand new (or being a reviewer *big grin*), and I fall back on the library when my pockets are empty .

Believe it or not, I have found a few treasures! πŸ˜€

For Older Readers

22529360The Princess Academy series by Shannon Hale

This series was a recent discovery. I’d call them quasi-fantasy since they have a historical feel with a few magical elements. Charming characters, a beautiful world, and great themes make up this series. The first book is the best, and I even bought a copy to put on my shelf. πŸ˜‰ I enjoyed the second book, and the third one is okay-ish; but I would recommend them for a slightly older age group than the first book for content reasons. Click through to readΒ my reviews of Princess Academy, Palace of Stone, and The Forgotten Sisters.

 

47281Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

This is one of those World War II books that tugs at your heartstrings without getting in your face with graphic details. Those are always my favorite. πŸ˜‰ In our family, we still wait to read it until about high Β school age just because of the main theme.

 

 

 

 

24337Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

I always enjoy this author’s quirky, heartwarming way of retelling fairy tales. Complete with a very fun heroine and a sweet romance, this is a great one. πŸ˜‰ Read my review here.

 

 

 

 

307791The Books of Ember series by Jeanne DuPrau

This series is one of my all time favorite dystopians! I read them a few years ago and enjoyed them so much that I am now on a quest to re-read and review them this year. πŸ˜€ Such a good series! (Except The Prophet of Yonwood a prequel full of odd ideologiesΒ and some aliens. Do yourself a favor and skip that one.) Find my detailed, enthusiastic review of the first book here.

 

 

6281385The Brixton Brothers series by Mac Barnett

From book one, this series is hilarious,Β full of adventure, and a delightful spoof of all the classic children’s detective novels. πŸ˜€ The first two books have mind-blowingly complicated plots, and the second two (while not as good) are also funny. πŸ˜‰ Find my reviews of them all here.

 

 

 

24240011Gossamer by Gail Carson Levine

I loved this sweet, sad fantasy so much! It’s a bit outside of my usual tastes, but the theme of stories and memories being used to touch hurting people was special to me as an author (and someone interested in foster care). Be warned: You will cry. Find my review here.

 

 

 

 

1499952Daddy Long-Legs by Jean Webster

This book is slightly romanticΒ but enjoyable for the quirky, lively main characterΒ alone. πŸ˜‰ I really enjoyed all of Judy’s thoughts (and some moaning) about life in general and trying to be an author specifically. There are some highly quotable moments in this book! Just a note that this book includes some early feminism and mixed up ideas about Christianity typical of the time period.

 

 

For Younger Readers

6553172The Doll Shop Downstairs series by Yona Zeldis McDonough

Dolls! What could be more darling? A doll shop and two books all about it. πŸ˜‰ My younger sisters and I have greatly enjoyed these books. Just a note that there are some attitudes of sibling rivalry and a little disobedience portrayed.

 

 

 

20708771The Princess in Black series by Shannon and Dean Hale

I found these by accident while looking for Princess Academy. My younger sisters and I LOVE them. πŸ˜‰ We were pretty excited when we heard about the fourth book, and just fan-girled together when we discovered the fifth one is coming out in September. πŸ˜‰ It’s pretty special to have a series we can share. Read my reviews of the first three books hereΒ and the fourth one here.

 

For Everyone

28114411Some Writer! The Story of E.B. White by Melissa Sweet

This illustrated biography has an adorable, scrapbook-y style. It also happens to be about one of my favorite authors with excerpts from his books, letters, and newspapers. While written mainly for children, it is enjoyable (exceedingly πŸ˜‰ ) for adults as well. Read my enthusiastic review here.

 

 

There you are! I hope you find some great reads on your next trip. πŸ˜€

What are some treasures you’ve found at the library?

28 thoughts on “10 Books to Discover at Your Library

      1. Oh, don’t ask that. *sobs* 7 out of those 10 are ones I loved!! The others (Daddy Long Legs, Gossamer, and The Brixton Brothers) I haven’t read.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I read those just a year or two ago and loved them! The first one is the best, but I did like different aspects of all of them. πŸ˜‰

      *cries with you* I wish I could start my own library of all the best books. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was really sweet, and an interesting premise, although it was “deep” and sometimes hard to understand. πŸ˜‰ It was mostly clean though, which is a plus, except for the teensiest bit of crude humor.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Great picks, Kate! πŸ™‚ Number the Stars, The City of Ember, Ella Enchanted, and Princess Academy are ones I love too!

    Based on this list, you would like the books Snow Treasure, All-of-a-Kind Family, and The Mysterious Benedict Society, which are pretty widely available at many libraries.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’ve read the first two books you mentioned, but I’ve been curious about The Mysterious Benedict Society. I’ll have to look into it a little more. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. I know what you mean. My mom has banned me from getting books from the library that I haven’t heard are good, so I’m kinda discouraged. I mean, I don’t want to read bad books, but I don’t want to buy books unless I have to- but I guess most of the books I would buy would be books by Christian, homeschooled authors, so that might be worth it… IDK. I’ve read a couple of these. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, yeah. The library can be such a minefield! I’ve run into disturbing or impure things just from reading dust jackets, so it is really good to be careful. If you ever want more suggestions of books that are worth buying, look through my reviews on here. Nearly all of them are books I found to be four and five stars. πŸ˜‰

      And I’m gonna need reviewers next month for my upcoming book, so I might contact you for that. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I almost never go to our local library anymore. They just don’t carry books I want to read. And the “christian” books are so weak, flat and full of general-isms or romance that I have no interest in them. I’m so thankful that we have our own “library” in the house with around 5k books. Since my mom also loves books, we enjoy used bookstores, finding books online to order and collecting the “good” books. I wish you were close enough to let you borrow our books. πŸ™‚ Or that shipping books wasn’t too expensive. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I get the same feeling when I go to the Christian bookstore. The only things I could read there are a couple non-fiction books and picture books. The fiction is depressing. πŸ˜‰

      Wow, what a great collection! I’m sure all your local friends are very blessed by the Morris Library. πŸ˜‰ (More reasons why we should live closer together!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

