Book Review: The Reluctant Godfather

33387751“Burndee is a young and cantankerous fairy godfather, who would rather bake cakes than help humans. A disgrace to the fairy order, Burndee has only two wards entrusted to his care…a cinder girl and a charming prince.

A royal ball presents Burndee with the brilliant solution of how to make his wards happy with the least amount of effort. He’ll arrange a meeting and hope the two fall in love.

A humorous and magical re-telling of Cinderella from a unique perspective.” (from Goodreads)

Warning: Drooling over the cover is inevitable, so all readers are advised to have paper towels nearby so they don’t ruin their paperback or Kindle.

Another warning: Readers will end up loving a grumpy, sarcastic character nearly against their will.

Also be warned that you will find yourself first hungry then amused, frustrated, and maybe even a little bit surprised.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book by Allison Tebo! There was just enough of the same old charming tale to keep it recognizable with a ton of twists throw in to freshen things up. 😀 I enjoyed all of the characters (although Burndee was really the best, and since he’s a baker I love it that his name has “burn” in it); and the way things went “horribly wrong” was fantastic. Although I did suspect the outcome earlier than I was supposed to, I think. It was also really special to find a content Cinderella. That never happens, and I’ve always wanted it to. And the dancing part! Ha, ha!!! Talk about shaking up the ball!!! It was also fun how Prince Colin was always handling Burndee. 😉 My favorite part was definitely SPOILER ALERT! the recurring theme of the word “neat” and how Burndee used it later. That was pretty sweet. ❤ END OF SPOILER! Just a note that there is a slight romantic element and the use of one minor British swear word.

Best quotes: “My father…” Colin hesitated a moment, his jaw working over the words. “My father says… it’s high time I…produced an heir.” “Oh.” Burndee said blankly, pausing in mid bite. “I’m good, but I’m not that good. Unless we steal a baby–” Colin gave him a disgusted look. “He means marriage, you fool.”

Burndee gave her the dirtiest look he possessed and hissed between his teeth. “Cake’s don’t psychoanalyze you.”

Altogether, charming and hilarious! Something to memorize and quote for eternity. 😉 I’m looking forward to more from this author!

10 thoughts on “Book Review: The Reluctant Godfather

Leave a Reply

