Plate Update: “Camping”, Em Dashes, and Castles

April was a whirlwind! Is it really over already?

Here’s a quick update on what I did last month. This full plate was a delightful mixture of Easter ham and Camp NaNoWriMo snacks. 😉

Beta-read and read for review:

Shadows of the Hersweald (five stars)

Lydia Howe’s current WIP “Echoes” 😉

Martin Hospitality (five stars and one heart)

Part of Malachi Cyr’s riveting WIP “Agent C” 

Pleasure read:

Left to Die (four stars)

The Forgotten Sisters (three stars)

The Mystery of the Mansion (four stars)

The Magnolia Story (three stars)

The 100-Year-Old Secret (three stars)

I am nearly finished reading my Sherlock Holmes collection, which is really exciting and kinda sad. I’m gonna have to find myself another big book to read next. 😉

Answered:

Regular correspondence stuff

An “Ask the Author” question on Goodreads

Googled:

Best JJ Heller songs

Most popular hard candy (Jolly Ranchers!) 

“Then” vs. “and then” 

Bible names for girls 

How to ride a horse and lead another 

Cream cheese oz. to cup equivalent 

Mini cheesecake recipe 

Flint Lockwood’s ringtone 😛

“Lead” vs. “led” 

Flogging (story research, FYI)

“In-between” vs. “in between” 

Hyphens, em dashes, and en dashes 

Simple overview of story structure 

Military care packages

How long it takes for a building to burn (story research!)

Steve Jobs’ adoption

And of course I always look up word definitions and actors if I have this niggling feeling I’ve seen them in something… 😉

Wrote:

Emessages (Sorry, I got bored of saying emails every time. 😛 )

My part of a collaborative story with Rebekah Morris

2,800 words on “One Last Fire”, my entry for the Stroke of the Pen writing contest

1,700 words as a replacement chapter for “The Twin Arrows”

Committee stories with a friend and siblings 😀

Blog posts (the top five being Plate Update: Princess Lesson, the FBI, and Celebrations; three Camp NaNoWriMo updates; and The Beta-Reading Tips at the End of the Universe)

Edited:

My short story “One Last Fire”

10k words of “The Twin Arrows” as my Camp NaNoWriMo goal!!!

We had a great Resurrection Day celebration and some times of fellowship with dear friends. I got to put in some volunteer hours at our local pro-life pregnancy resource center with my sister. I also finally splurged and spent some birthday money on sewing materials. It’s been so much fun to have a project to work on! 😀 This month I’m looking forward to trying some library books I picked up, helping with another book release, and beta-reading two exciting projects. “The Twin Arrows” is currently in the hands of beta-readers which is exciting and a big first for me. 😉 I’m also in contact with my cover designer over some early mock-ups. Eeek!

How was your April? What are you looking forward to this month?

10 thoughts on “Plate Update: “Camping”, Em Dashes, and Castles

    1. Yes, it was really busy! I didn’t realize how full it was until I put together this post. Thanks. 😉

      Aw, I’m so glad you like it so much!!! *happily scoops up some confetti and throws it at you* 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Well, I did it again. I never seem to be able to stay caught up on your blog posts. 😛 (Nor on anyone else’s for that matter!) But I did make it.

    I always enjoy seeing the things you were able to accomplish in a month, from the stories you read, to what you looked up, to the things you read. And everything else.

    My April? It was busy. I know that much. I got another year older, I wrote 30k words during Camp NaNo, I attended two weddings and helped decorate and serve for one of them, and I don’t know what else.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

