Camp NaNoWriMo Update #4

In my WIP “The Twin Arrows”, Drewin and his sister go on a long journey. This April I went with them!

KateWinner2

As of last Tuesday–I won Camp NaNoWriMo!!! *happy dance* I made my goal of revising 10k words in one month. πŸ˜‰ This is a big milestone for me since I’m very bad at getting to and sticking with revising. I’m so happy to be this far in the process! And isn’t it just geekily gorgeous that the arrow on my stats turned gold when it hit the bulls-eye? I feel so Maid Marian or something. πŸ˜›

It was looking like I wouldn’t make my goal inΒ that writer’s block plagued second week, but I pulled through thanks to the very encouraging ladies in my cabin. (And their great ideas.) πŸ˜‰ When I finished the last few hundred words of my manuscript and validated, they gave me some sweet congratulations.

KateWinnerfriends

Even though my manuscript was officially done on Wednesday, I decided to do a bit more editing since I had the time. πŸ˜‰ Following the advice of this brilliant article, I used the search tool to find unnecessary or overused words (and change the spelling of one character’s name). The word to win the prize was definitely “that”. I didn’t know I used it so much until I found 72 instances! *holds head* I was able to cut them down by half, and I’m confident my sentences are a lot stronger for it. πŸ˜‰

KateFindreplace

My manuscript shrunk by 100 words, but it still needed work. I’d heard some about editing with a Kindle and use it toΒ beta-read longer works, so I decided to give it a try. Only the Kindle was busy for awhile, because my two youngest sisters were eagerly devouring my draft. πŸ˜‰ It was very specialΒ to get their enthusiastic feedback.

I promise I was as hard on myself as I am on all the authors I beta-read for. πŸ˜› It worked well to see my story as a whole and find more typos in a different format. And less hours at the computer = win, win. πŸ˜€

I think I could really go on forever editing and editing and editing this manuscript; but thanks to this article, I’ve decided to implement my Kindle edits (and a few ideas from a sister) then hand it to beta-readers. I’m contacting possible people today, so pray for me thatΒ it works out!!! πŸ˜€

How was your Camp NaNoWriMo experience? Did you make your goal? Will you be doing it again in July?

13 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Update #4

  1. Yay! Ooh, look, it’s the Chatter Box! πŸ™‚ Don’t worry too much about those that’s. I just hopped over to my document of Once a Stratton to check how many times I’d used that (hehe) word, and it was 316! WHAT?! No one word out of the twenty-six should take up almost 20% of my novel! That’s crazy.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes, I’m planning on doing Camp in July. πŸ™‚ I’m already thinking about working on “Hymns in the Hills” as it needs to be finished, don’t you think?
    Yes, I met my goal(s) at Camp NaNo. First the 20k was knocked off, and then 30k. I ended up with 5k extra. πŸ˜€
    And my first experience with Camp was certainly delightful! Thank you again for talking me into coming. πŸ™‚ I never dreamed I’d have as much fun as I did.

    That (sorry, I couldn’t resist starting my sentence with that word. πŸ˜› ) is great about your story. πŸ™‚ So happy you got it done, and that you are sending it to your beta readers. πŸ˜‰ (Now I’m curious how many times I use that word in my writings. Maybe I’ll have to look.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay!!! That sounds like a great plan. πŸ˜‰ Wow, you awesome overachiever. That’s like the length of a novella! πŸ˜€

      Aw, it was so much to have you!! I’m so glad you joined. πŸ˜‰ Ha, ha! Thank you! It’s been amazing and exciting to work with beta-readers. They have some of the greatest suggestions. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

