Camp NaNoWriMo Update #2

“The Twin Arrows” didn’t get much attention last week, but that doesn’t mean I’ve given up on my goal. I’m only a thousand words behind, and that’s nothing a long writing session and a little chocolate can’t fix, right? πŸ˜› (I have exactly five caramels and two Rolos, FYI.)

KateOops

The “distractions” of last week have been the best kind. I finished up beta-reading an early draft of Lydia Howe’s fantastic novel “Echoes”. Let me tell ya’–it’s gonna be awesome. πŸ˜€ She’s currently posting about it on her blog Noveltea, so go check it out and get yourself excited. (*chants* Publish, publish, publish!) πŸ˜€

LydiaBlog

Just because I wasn’t breaking anyone out of a castle or editing, doesn’t mean I wasn’t writing! Au contraire! I wrote a [long] short story. It’s a little different than anything I’ve ever written before, so I’m not sure if I like it yet. Maybe I’ll post it on here in the future, and you can help me decide. πŸ˜‰ The Dana Alphasmart I got for my birthday was extremely helpful, and I just adore the color. πŸ˜€ #shamelesspicturereusing

Dana and WriteMind

I also got to READ some! It’s been awhile since I’ve had time to actually finish a book, and I think that’s partly why my creativity was suffering. Check out my Goodreads reviews to see what I’ve been enjoying. πŸ˜‰

My family and I had a great celebration of Good Friday and Resurrection Sunday complete with amazing food, adorable nephews, and some very blessed worship of Christ with our church family. πŸ˜‰

Can you believe it? Sir Larkin and Drewin are still in that castle! Have mercy on this poor busy author though because I have the daunting challenge of replacing an entire chapter. I wrote half of it last week, and I have the rest pretty lined out for finishing it. Who ever guessed I’d be excited to get back to editing as the “easy part”? πŸ˜›

How is your Camp adventure going? How did you celebrate the Resurrection?

15 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Update #2

  1. My camp project is going great! I reached the end of “Dylan’s Story.” Well, at least until my editor has read it and given feedback. πŸ˜‰ Now I can work on my author story, or our story, or “Hymns in the Hills” . . . Oh, so many choices. πŸ™‚ I’m planning to make tomorrow my “day of writing” and write as much as I can. I’ve never done that before, so we’ll see how it goes.

    On Sunday my sister and I sang in the choir, and then after visiting a little after church, we came home and relaxed. It’s been crazy and busy and the day of rest was very much appreciated. (Even if finding a book I was actually interested in reading took 4 tries!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. WOOHOO! I can’t wait to see Dylan’s Story. πŸ˜‰ So many options coming up! Wow, yes. I’m sure that will be great.

      That sounds like a very nice day! Oh, yeah. Bummer books are a little frustrating… πŸ˜‰

      Like

    1. *whispers* Dystopian. Conspiracy. Medical intrigue.

      I KNOW!!! *hides in shame* All care packages can be addressed to Sir Larkin and Drewin of Arcella in the castle storeroom. Good luck getting them past the guards. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 2 people

      1. OMGOSH! I am all in, save the medical. I can’t do blood well. πŸ˜› Sounds epic! I love me some conspiracy (hence, that’s pretty much what all my books have in them, oops! :D)
        AH OK. I’mma send ’em a key. ;D And a bazooka.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Fortunately, I can’t handle blood either so I kept out of that department. πŸ˜€

        Oh, yes. I’m sure both will be useful, though I’m not sure they will know what to do with the bazooka…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. My camp project… ahahaha. Well, It’s coming along great, it’s just apparently I had a lot more to write in it then I figured. Alas for editing it this month… I’ll probably only get to edit the last week or so lol. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Goodness! KATE you’re so sweet! I can’t believe I missed this post until now. Thank you so much for that shout-out and for beta reading in the first place! That makes me incredibly happy. Good job with your Camp NaNoWriMo project! YAY for being on track!
    By the way, I talked about you in my vlog today. πŸ˜‰ (Of course that was before I knew you’d talked about *me* on your blog!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, you’re welcome! It was a TON of fun. πŸ˜€

      Thanks! I’m not quite on track, but I’m not too far behind either. πŸ˜›

      Oh, what a fun post! I’m so happy for you that your planner came!!! πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

