Camp NaNoWriMo Update #1

I had plans to focus on editing “The Twin Arrows” this month anyway; so when the option of Camp NaNoWriMo presented itself, it didn’t take too much arm-twisting-author-peer-pressure to get me to join. πŸ˜‰

ProjectKate

I created a camper profile, proclaimed a word goal of 10k revising “The Twin Arrows”, made a cover mock-up just for grins, and squeezed into the virtual cabin aptly named “The Chatterbox”. (It’s been a fun group.) πŸ˜‰

And then it was time to dive in! πŸ˜€ Remembering some great rewriting/editing advice I had read from the Indie E-Con 2017, I opted against editing inline. Instead I have the old draft open in one window while I type it into another. This has been working surprisingly well, and the method is my new best friend. πŸ˜‰ Not only does it force me to read through my story again as I work, but I’m also less tempted to let little tweaks be enough. Having a blank page below me in the new draft frees me up to change the story however much it’s needed.

EditKate

The one on the left is my newest version (draft four!), and the one on the right is my clunky, hate-worthy old draft that makes me cringe almost daily. πŸ˜› One of the smallest changes that makes me the happiest is new chapter titles! I’m trimming them down to one word for starters and changing a few to fit theΒ theme better.

I also discovered that I had a surprise tenth chapter. πŸ˜‰ (After talking to the cabin about whether or not they liked books with an odd number of chapters… and deciding to split the last one to make it an even ten.) Turns out the chapter heading hadn’t shown up on my document map. What a funny surprise. πŸ˜›

My cabin mates have been quite encouraging brainstormers. I just got to that troublesome stuck-in-the-castle bit again. Let’s just say, they’ve had some great ideas to make it work! (Sir Larkin thanks you, Angela.)

During the travails of this reluctant reviser, I ran into a very scary thing.

WritersBlock.jpg

Anyone else had this problem? πŸ˜€ I’ve battled it quite a bit throughout the week, had good days and bad days, and even managed to get ahead of my goal before I decided to take a break for the weekend. πŸ˜‰

StatsKate

I still have about 6k words left to go, a jailbreak to plan, snacks to eat, and some more brain cudgeling over those commas. πŸ˜‰ Sounds exciting, doesn’t it?

How is your writing going?

16 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Update #1

    1. Thanks! I’m loving it. πŸ˜‰ Aw, sorry!! I hope your writer’s block goes away soon. It really is no fun… Thank you!! I need to do some research on medieval fireplaces and then I think I’m good. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am very glad to be of assistance to Mr. Larkin. ;D Your story is coming along great, Kate! (hey, look… I rhymed, lol) I’m very curious to read the whole thing. πŸ™‚
    My writing is going well, too! I have one chapter to redo and a prologue to add but… it’s coming. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m almost done with “Dylan’s Story.” I’m working on the ending right now. I had written something, but it was blah, rushed and uninteresting. So . . . I started working on it. I’m much happier now. πŸ™‚ Hopefully I can get it finished before long. Then it will need beta readers . . . *coughs significantly with a questioning look at Kate*

    I also got more work done on my story about the author who is writing about an author who is writing about an author who . . . Anyway, it’s been fun. πŸ™‚ I still need to work on a certain short story. πŸ˜› Sorry. I promise I will get to it soon. Maybe next week.

    One of my biggest ways to crush writer’s block is to work on a different story. Or do a writing sprint. I’d never done any until Camp. They have helped me so much when I don’t want to write, or I am getting distracted, or I just can’t seem to get anything written.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! That’s so exciting!!! πŸ˜‰ I have a short story like that right now where the ending is giving me trouble… πŸ˜€ *coughs back* I’d love to, but May is horribly busy. When will you need it?

      Wow! That does sound fun! Hey, that’s okay. *whispers* I am so behind on emails.

      That’s great! This week I’ve been dividing my time between Camp and a short story, so that’s been nice for my creative juices. πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

