A Storybook Birthday

I got older last week. I didn’t mean to; it just happened. There’s no controlling birthdays. They come suddenly with fire on candles and ice on cream. Dreadfully frightening.

My birthday this year was pretty storybook in that it was charming and sweet and fun and also that it will enable me to write more storybooks. Because, it was pretty much an extremely author-ly birthday. 😀Enroute

My family gifted me with playing card games and two different trivia games they tailor-made for me interests. (Do you know how Tom Baker’s scarf originated or the meaning of “kip”? I do now!) They gifted me with Oreo ice cream (more than once, actually) because they know how much I love it and a snack for us while we all wrote together. My younger sisters threw me a tea party and an older sister took me out for tea. (Starbucks, I have no idea what a frappe-mocha-colocha is. I just know the word “chai”, and that’s good enough.) And then we went to a Christian coffee shop with my oldest sister and her family where I had tea and the world’s best chocolate chip cookie. And earned a baby giggle!

And they gifted me with presents. A Kindle case (gorgeous leather) coming in the mail and a WriteMind planner from my parents. ❤ (Squeal!!!!! I got to pick my cover, and I bought an extra because there were too many fantastic options. I mean, how do you decide between Peter Pan, Doctor Who, and cupcakes?) IMG_20170327_203623The sixth Triple Creek Ranch book from my siblings. I’ve been excited about this one for a while. (I had no idea it was dedicated to me! Rebekah, you are so sneaky and awesome!!! I cannot believe you! And you Paul, who beta-read it! How could you keep it a secret?)

And last but not least, an electronic word processor my sister Perry Elisabeth refurbished and painted vintage red. It’s darling, and I’m already being more productive without Facebook. 😉 (It’s also an extra huge blessing because my computer just broke again.)Dana and WriteMind

But most of all, they gifted me with being crazy (do you know what “hundreds and thousands” means in British slang?) and creative (the WriteMind and the word processor were straight from the creative minds of my sister and her husband) and courageous (Dad and Paul fixed the van that morning so we could go to the coffeeshop) and Christ-loving. And mine. 😀

31 thoughts on “A Storybook Birthday

  1. I really was going to tell you Happy Birthday last week! I was!!! But somehow life got in the way and it never happened. 😦 So sorry! But . . . Let’s pretend it’s your birthday today! 😀
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, KATE!!!!!!!
    I had no idea that Paul didn’t tell you who TCR-6 was dedicated to. 😛 What a fun surprise. Now I want to know what you think of it. And that Alpha Smart! Love the color! (My favorite color is red.) Isn’t it amazing and wonderful and time-saving?! I know I would NEVER get much writing done if I had to do it on my computer. Too many distractions. Now you can write anywhere and at all times. 😉 It does sound like you had an extra lovely birthday!
    And now, just because . . .
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. YAY!!! I’m happy to pretend today is my birthday again. 😉 Thank you for the birthday wishes!

      Oh, that’s awesome. He’s pretty sneaky. 😛 I can’t wait to read it!

      Wow, you too? Red is really the best color. I’m already loving using it! 😀

      Thank you again! XD

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Happy birthday Kate! May God bless you and keep you and may you always have an abundance of oreo icecream!…. sounds like you had an amazing bday:)) So happy for you! I’ve been wanting to get one of those word processors, having the laptop is SUCH A DISTRACTION with all the goods within. lol

    Jazzy @ http://thrivinghope.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

