Book Review: Some Writer! The Story of E.B. White

28114411““SOME PIG,” Charlotte the spider’s praise for Wilbur, is just one fondly remembered snippet from E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web. In Some Writer!, the two-time Caldecott Honor winner Melissa Sweet mixes White’s personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to tell his story, from his birth in 1899 to his death in 1985. Budding young writers will be fascinated and inspired by the journalist, New Yorker contributor, and children’s book author who loved words his whole life. This authorized tribute is the first fully illustrated biography of E. B. White and includes an afterword by Martha White, E. B. White’s granddaughter.” (from Goodreads)

When I’m dead and famous, please write my biography exactly like this one by Melissa Sweet. It felt like reading a scrapbook with all the photographs, newspaper clippings, and letters scattered throughout. The scrapbooked decorations were adorable, and the illustration style was very fun. ❤ Quite the aesthetically pleasing book! My favorite part was when it showed the six different drafts of the first line for Charlotte’s Web. I quite identified with his author-ly struggle. 😉 E.B. White led an enthusiastic, jam-packed life. His was a lesson in gleaning experience, joy, and wonder from every circumstance. His sense of humor was up my alley, and I love his frank yet whimsical writing style. Since this book was written for children, the author did a good job of keeping things light and engaging. I was especially delighted to see two of my other literary favorites featured in this book. Garth Williams is my all-time favorite illustrator, and William J. Strunk is the best. I’ve personally learned a ton from The Elements of Style so it was great to hear a little more about the men behind it. Just a note that the way in which he met and married his wife is not God-honoring but kept brief and vague.

Best quote: “All that I hope to say in books, all that I ever hope to say, is that I love the world. I guess you can find that in there, if you dig around.”

Altogether, I can’t remember the last time I’ve enjoyed a biography so much! I’d definitely recommend this book to every author, artist, and booklover. 😉

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Some Writer! The Story of E.B. White

  1. I know I’m a bit late, but I also loved this book! (and posted a review of it on my blog of course!) I just discovered your blog and am really enjoying it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

