Draft One–Done!

I finished the first draft of “Kiera” last week. Saturday to be exact, so I had more time to write. It was also raining, so I was feeling extra creative. Armed with these advantages and one more ingredient–encouragement from my family and a friend who let me recite the whole plot to her–I finished. πŸ˜‰

fireworks-74689_1920

It’s hard to pinpoint when I first began working on this story, but I think it was earlier last year. I took a several month break then picked it back up when NaNoWriMo was upon us, and I had a creative itch even though I wasn’t officially participating. I’ve shared excerpts and updates, made a ridiculously detailed (and mostly spoiler free) Pinterest board, and did my fair share of plot-groaning-writer’s-block-general-complaining. (That’s actually very key to the process.) All the hard lessons God has taught me (and been teaching me!) made it into the story somehow.Β Even a head cold was useful when I had to describe my character being sick. πŸ˜‰

Even though I have a story with a plot, scenes, characters, chapter breaks, and all those good things (except a title!); there is still much to be done. I can already see the imperfections in my chi–book. I’m already thinking through a proper title and rephrasing one of the last scenes in my mind. And I’m of course remembering everything I’ve forgotten to include in the story. πŸ˜‰

I’ve decided to hold onto the happy glow of finishing the draft and wait to criticize it until it’s actually time to edit. πŸ˜‰ I’ll be taking a few months break to let the manuscript rest and work on another project for publication, Lord willing. (More on that later!) πŸ˜‰

In the meantime, thanks for all your enthusiasm and encouragement! I can’t wait to see where this story takes me next. πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “Draft One–Done!

Leave a Reply

