(Slightly) Romantic Books Part 2

Who else <3’s a little romance in their fiction? Who else is frustrated by downright silly and/or defiling portrayals of romance?

Last Friday I gave a list of ten (slightly) romantic booksΒ I felt comfortable recommending and promised more to come. You can find all of these books (and any new ones I discover!) on my Goodreads shelf “Sweet Romance”. Read them at your own (and your parents!) discretion. πŸ˜‰

25236143Gift from the Storm by Rebekah Morris is first an amazing God-honoring mystery full of sweet family life (and CHRISTMAS!) and secondly a great example of organic, friendship-based romance. Read my enthusiastic review here.Β 

 

 

 

 

2636026Waiting for Her Isaac by Stephen and Susie Castleberry is one of the few portrayals of courtship I’ve read. Instead of focusing on rules and regulations, it brings things back to trusting the Lord, looking for principles in His word, and growing up in general since there is a lot of book before the courtship part. πŸ˜‰ Read my review here.

 

 

 

 

722737Stepping Heavenward by Elizabeth Prentiss is the story of real girl. Not to say that it is biographical or even based on someone specific–but Katy has the same struggles, misunderstandings, and temptations that are common to us. The story does drag towards the end, but if you can live with that it’s worth the lessons and sweet romance. πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

543358A Little House of Their Own by Celia Wilkins is one of those “extra Little House books”. (I’m usually not a fan especially if they throw in feminism or attitude that is just plain not true to the time period of the Ingalls.) This one however is SO SWEET especially since it’s friendship-based and sets a nice tone for the Laura books. πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

389828Roses for Mama by Janette Oke is the story of a young woman who is suddenly responsible for all of her younger siblings when her parents die. You can imagine that throws a hitch in the romance department unless the guy is super sweet and genuine… πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

 

1499952Daddy Long-Legs by Jean Webster was enjoyed by me mostly because of the hilarious author confessions of Judy, but the romance in it ended up pretty sweet as well. πŸ˜‰ I wouldn’t recommend it for all ages because the worldview is a slightly mixed bag.

 

 

 

 

664675Rose in Bloom by Louisa May Alcott wins the prize for most adorable classic ever. While there are “silly” moments and such, I really love how it turns out to prove that love is built on respect. And if you happen to have read its lighthearted prequel Eight Cousins, you’ll find it ten times cuter. πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

 

81330471Ready or Not by Chautona Havig is the first book in the Aggie’s Inheritance series. I feel like I am always talking about this series, but I’m not stopping. πŸ˜› It’s actually Christian and contemporary which is rare for me to find! It’s pretty clean, but there are still a few things that make it more PG than some of the others here. Here’s my review. πŸ˜‰ I have to get my hands on that fourth book!!!

 

 

 

830435The Garden Wall by Jeanie Bishop is a picture book entirely on 1 Corinthians 13. It’s tearjerking and darling with great pictures and–yeah, I love it. πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

That concludes my recommendations!Β Chime in with your favorites!

14 thoughts on “(Slightly) Romantic Books Part 2

  1. The only ones on this list that I haven’t read are “A Little House of Their Own,” “Roses for Mama,” and the last one. The others are delightful. πŸ™‚ I’m sure I could find a few more to add to your list, but my mind is blank right now. Maybe later. Thanks for this fun list.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any of these, but I want to read all of them!

    (The secret truth is, though, that I don’t mind romance at all! In fact, I really enjoy it! But don’t tell anyone … although, y’know, everyone should be able to tell … πŸ˜„ )

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, well, I really understand why people don’t want to read a lot of romance … it can be pretty cheesy sometimes, and it can be hard to find one that’s as clean as I like it sometimes … and then, you know, there’s just a matter of taste, too. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. KAAATE A Gift From the Storm is soooo sweet that it can hardly be called a romance!!! It’s normal life with some adventure and super awesome big brothers and a sweet gal thrown in and THEN there’s the last chapter. ❀ Lol ;P
    Eeeeeek! Daddy Long Legs!!! YES!! Judy is SUCH a character!! I would totally love to be her penpal!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

