Book Review: Counted Worthy

22752883“Heather Stone lives in fear of repeating the past, yet she continues doing the one thing that could trigger another disaster. When the police trace an illegal Bible to her house, Heather’s world begins to crumble.

Her father’s life hangs in the balance. No one with the power to help knows or cares. If she tries to save him, she could lead her friends to their deaths. If she does nothing, her father’s fate is certain. Can she evade a hostile police force and win public sympathy before it’s too late?” (from Goodreads)

Why did I not know this book by Leah Good existed??!!! It has all the elements of my favorite dystopians–banned books, bicycle chases, sneaking past security, and some broken down infrastructure–with no love triangle or adult content to make me throw it out the window. Seriously good. The writing style was so fun, my Kindle highlighter and I went on a spree together after the first chapter pulled me in to the point of no return. Quite the surprise twist there! Heather was so real. She struggled so much but turned to God for her strength, and her friends (especially Bryce) were there to remind her of the Scriptures she needed. I liked Bryce quite a bit, and Ansley was a fun side character. The part that had me most flipping “pages” was when they discovered the SPOILER ALERT!  raid on Miss Lucinda’s house. Awful. Grrr, Alden. I did find the book slow and heavy on the dialogue at some points; but the Christian message, amazing action, and great characters made up for everything. *big fangirl grin* Not recommended for younger readers because of intense action, flashbacks to SPOILER ALERT! a violent death, and SPOILER ALERT! medically induced execution. Also, one character swears under his breath although the word is not mentioned, and there are a few woman leaders in the resistance.

Best quote: “I looked up and found an expectant expression on his face. He wanted me to sound spiritual, but I only felt scared.”

And this one just because: “He put his hand over my mouth. I considered licking him until I heard the rhythmic thump of running feet.”

Altogether, I LOVED this fantastic, God-honoring read! Anyone want to build a printing press with me?

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Counted Worthy

Leave a Reply

