Happy Year’s End!

Anno Domini Two-Thousand and Sixteen draws to a close, ladies and gentlemen! Time to look back on the blessings and happenings of this past year.

In the blogging sphere…

I launched this blog in June with this introductory post. Since then I have had the privilege of interviewing authors, reviewing books, and getting to interact with all of you wonderful readers. 😉

willis2bweek2b4

I looked at my stats to find the top five posts of this year, and here’s what the numbers show. 😉

  1. Top 5 Favorite Mysteries was the opening post of the Five Fall Favorites blog party I hosted with five other bloggers. It was so much fun to share recommendations, reviews, and giveaways with you all! Viewership on this whole party went up for giveaways, but I won’t be sharing about them all right now. You can find the whole party here.
  2. Jonny Jimison Interview was very unique since the whole exchange between us was drawn in cartoon format by the graphic novelist himself. Fun times. 😉
  3. In Book-Lover Blog Tag I interviewed myself about my bookish habits, favorite book-related things, and even talked about some books. (There is also a Sherlock meme I really love…)
  4. I told a funny story about editing books in Two Sisters and White-Out. I also celebrated the amazing book  The Book Thiefagain.
  5. NaNoWri…No, Not This Year tied with another post for fifth place as I talked about my November plans in place of the 50k sprint. And by the way, I did get quite a few words written even though I wasn’t in NaNo proper! 😉

And if I had to choose a personal favorite from this year, it would either be We Are Writers or The Little Books. 😉

books-315677_1280

Oh, has this been a banner book year!!! Not only have I opened up submissions for my beta reading services and run across sooo many gems, I’ve also made quite a few great discoveries at the library. Goodreads so kindly put together a summary of everything I’ve read this year (except those brilliant manuscripts that MUST BE PUBLISHED) which you can view here whether or not you have an account.

Here’s my top five favorite books this year. I had sooo many favorites, but here are some I’ll definitely be reading again forever and likely quoting. 😉

  1. The Scarlet Pimpernel = brilliant! He’s like Sherlock Holmes except he makes up the mystery as he goes and is just WOW with disguises. I’m really glad I finally read this classic. 😉
  2. Fahrenheit 451 is slightly unusual, but it opened a whole new realm of the dystopian genre for me. The setting of banned books and a dissipated fragmented culture was interesting to start with but then throw in a highly quotable, amazing neighbor. Yep, she was the best part.
  3. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy had me rolling with laughter thanks to Arthur Dent (and some well-placed whiteout). Oh, wow–my sense of humor will never be the same. 😉 Resistance is useless.
  4. The Book Thief!!! Ah! ❤ ❤ ❤ Sorry, I’ll calm down. I spent three or four blog posts celebrating this book, comparing it to the movie, reviewing it, and talking about white-out. 😉 Seriously loved this book.
  5. 5 Secrets of Story Structure has been revolutionary for helping me understand how to better my stories. Very concise and helpful. 😉

Life this year outside of stories and blog posts, reviewing and typing has been amazing as well. I’ve gotten to participate in an amazing Bible study about beauty with my mother, sisters, and some great new friends; help host a wedding reception; make new friends in person and by email; be a pollworker for this crazy election (do you know how to fill out a provisional ballot?); go to the bookstore TWICE this month; and have my littlest nephew run to me when he saw me. ❤ Those are just a few great memories from this year, and I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next in this coming one! God has so many good plans, doesn’t He?

I’ll be back next week with a December Plate Update, an exciting review, and my goals for 2017. For now, God bless and have a happy New Year!

11 thoughts on “Happy Year’s End!

  1. What a fun look back at the year. I must say that our blog party was a highlight of the year for me too. 🙂 I had so much fun working with you, Kate! Thanks for all the ideas and advice and suggestions. I’d say let’s plan a new party right now, but . . . I’m too busy! 😛 Maybe later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for being our lovely hostess, Rebekah! It would not have been possible without you, and I think if we polled the populace several others would say it was a highlight for them too. 😉 Hmm… how does spring sound? 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

