Christmas in My Soul

This past week, I’ve been busier than Jade chasing kittens. (Which she did get to do in the tiny bit of writing I accomplished, but more on that later…)

I’ve been busy with…CHRISTMAS! We decorated the outside of our house with a ton of icicle lights, three great wreaths, and a sign my artistic dad did in calligraphy years ago proclaiming “Glory to God in the Highest”.

We’ve also been to Hobby Lobby too many times to count as well as a few other less important stores for Christmas shopping. 😉 (I’ve spent some time reading in the car as well since I’m not big on shopping.) I cannot divulge all present secrets here at this time, but I will say that a scorpion paperweight is involved. 😉

We’ve been celebrating Advent this year with a Jesse Tree, and it’s been so neat to see how each different family that participated in our exchange chose to craft their ornament. I love getting to see the story of redemption proclaimed by these little symbols. 😉

Today we did some gift wrapping! Those of us who weren’t wrapping for each other made it into a party and shared tape and secrets. I have a slight obsession with giftwrap, so I especially enjoy this step. 😉

I’m have Christmas in my soul so much that I’m sorely tempted to completely rework the plot of “Kiera” to get the holiday in there somehow, but I think I’ll save that for the short story I need to write this week. 😉

cat-914110_1920

Thanks to some very helpful people on Facebook and Goodreads, I garnered four delightful kitten names to include in my latest scene. It’s a little bit of a lull in the storm, so it’s quite different from the last one I shared. Here’s an excerpt…

“Thank you.” Destiny wiped a stray tear away. “Come on, I really brought you in here to see the kittens.”

Just then one scampered by, and Jade took off chasing it.

“Kiera, catch Myles!” Destiny directed, pointing to the chubby gray kitten that was escaping into the hay and taking off after another one.

She had wanted to ask what Kent thought but was immediately glad the subject was changed and hurried to obey Destiny. She caught the kitten by his back legs and swooped him up into her arms. He melted and began to purr.

Destiny came up with a kitten in each arm, and Jade followed juggling another.

“Yook, Mommy! I has kitten.”

“Yes! Good job. Be careful with him.” She reached out to steady the kitten.

“Seriously, dear, you should loan me your girly more often. She is a workout and a comedy show at the same time.”

“Naw, I’d miss her too much.” Kiera tousled Jade’s curls fondly. “So, introduce the kittens to me.”

“You are holding Myles, Sir Myles actually. He’s the cuddliest of them all. I have,” she glanced down at the balls of fur in her arms, “Widget and Elissa, or ‘Lisers’ if you are Aric. And Jade has Flicker who is Widget’s practical twin.”

“I love them all,” Kiera said.

“Take them all,” Destiny offered, pretending to push two more kittens at her.

“I don’t think Brennan would go for that,” she laughed.

“I’ll convince him.”

Destiny was already outside before she could say another word.

 

I don’t think I’ll be able to get much more writing done on this story before the year is over, but I hope to have a short story for you all to read next week. Got any brilliant, Christmas-y ideas? 😉

6 thoughts on “Christmas in My Soul

  1. You’re Christmas-y time sounds delightful! I’m feeling really rushed and a bit crazy trying to get everything done that needs to be done THIS WEEK! 🙂 But it should bet better soon. This month is going by way too quickly for me. 🙂
    Great names for the kittens. 🙂
    And ideas for a Christmas story? Write it around a Christmas song. And oh, I had an idea, but I don’t know if it’ll work . . . Let me think about it and then email you. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is! We watched some funny Christmas shorts last night and crafted together. 😉

      Aw, I’m sorry you’re rushed, but I’m glad you’ll get to relax soon! I think this whole year went too quickly. 😉

      Ooo! Good idea! I’d love to hear your idea. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww, the kittens sound so cute! My family had kittens quite frequently while I was growing up, but we haven’t had one in a while. Next spring hopefully . . . 😉

    “She is a workout and a comedy show at the same time” <– Hahahaha!!! I love it!!! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

