God in the Everyday

Since I’m a Christian author, I want to include my Savior in my stories. I do have my characters share the Gospel, listen to a short sermon in church, or seek advice; but one of my favorite ways to accomplish this is modeling a relationship with Christ in their everyday lives.

When we first watched the Jimmy Stewart movie You Can’t Take It With You, we were struck by theΒ way the father of the family prayed. He talked to God as His friend.

Sometimes I think we can tend to move along in our stories and suddenly remember, “Oh, wait. I’m not a humanist. This character can’t do it on his own! He’ll pray, and then it will work out.”

Basically calling 911. That’s no relationship.

What happened to praising God for everyday gifts? Ordinary things? Asking Him to help find mayonnaise in the refrigerator? Chatting about struggles in how to treat a friend properly?

I’m not very good at this in my own life much less in my stories. After all, stories are about conflict; so naturally it’s hard to slow down to have a character read their Bible and pray about something other than that huge plot point that just happened.

It’s fine for them to pray about the life-altering wringer you are putting them through (I’m looking at you, author!) but let’s bring God into the everyday joys and struggles. Let’s have the character pray for mayonnaise or sing a joyful hymn. (Like Aggie does!) Maybe show them going to church. I even put a sticky note on Kiera’s mirror reminding her to read her Bible, since the struggle is real. πŸ˜‰

What do you think?Β Do you have any tips to share?

praying-614374_1920

11 thoughts on “God in the Everyday

  1. Oh, I love ‘You Can’t Take It With You.’ That’s the best movie ever. πŸ™‚

    Unless that’s the point of the whole novel (*has a plot bunny* *shoots it*), you should definitely make sure your characters don’t just pray when they’re in trouble! I do that all the time … I get to a point where I realize that my character is in a mess, and I’m like, “Okay … time to pray …” But you don’t just follow God when you’re in trouble … you follow him all the time! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s so fun you’ve seen it!!! “Have you ever been stuck in a monastery?”

      Great thoughts! Sometimes that can be the point of a story, but I like how you put it that we follow God all the time.

      Poor plot bunny. πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It can be a challenge to make your characters “feel Christian” when you write them, but the more you practice, the easier it gets. I’ve also found that reading books by Isabella Alden really helped me be able to make my characters “live” a Christian life all the time not just when they were in trouble.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh dear, this is going to sound terrible, . . . but who are the Morgans? I’m tired, I can’t even remember the names of my characters!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

