Little Free Library Love

We first discovered Little Free Libraries in a book checked out from our regular library. Basically, it’s a small cabinet (almost like a big birdhouse) set up in a central location for neighbors to “take a book, leave a book”. I loved this community-building idea so much, I spent time looking at the website and searching pictures of creative ideas for making your own.

Then I found one near us. *happy dance*

lfl2

Isn’t it beautiful? When we first came across it, it was completely neglected and empty. We just so happened to have stock from our used book business with us, so we could fill it to bursting.

This picture is actually from our second visit several months later. This time there were a few dusty flyers, which we replaced nicely as you can see. 😉

lfl1

Isn’t it beautiful? (Note to self: stop saying that.)

I was going through more stock the other day and discovered quite a few good Christmas books that won’t sell well but would be perfect for the library. Now I can’t wait to visit it again! 😉

Have you ever been to a Little Free Library? The website includes a handy-dandy map for finding one near you, and I may have just found one even closer to us. 😀

13 thoughts on “Little Free Library Love

  1. I’ve heard of Little Free Libraries, and I have seen some around town, but the ones I saw didn’t have any books in them, and I didn’t have any books with me at the time. 😦 I’ll have to check the next time I see one! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

