Franky A. Brown Interview

blog-tour-banner

Franky A. Brown started writing her Jane Austen retellings in May 2015. She started with Pride and Butterflies, then None But You. Now she’s published Emma’s Match a retelling of Emma by Jane Austen. In Franky’s retelling, Emma is a designer who’s business is struggling, but she’s never failed at anything and she doesn’t plan to fail here either. Can she walk the line between friendship and love or will she lose the only man she has ever loved?

About the Book

emmas-match_kindle-for-blogEmma Wallace has a plan up her sleeve to save her struggling design business, but not a clue what do to about the man who has her heart.

Stealing a kiss from Will Knight years ago ended in an embarrassment she didn’t want to repeat. But when a popular new designer in town starts taking her clients and has eyes on Will, too, Emma decides it’s time to fight for what she wants. The perfectly irritating designer she wants to shove into a hole isn’t the only one who can be down-to-earth and likeable. After all, Emma’s never failed at anything…except walking the line between friendship and love. Crossing it again could mean losing Will’s friendship for good.

Buy on Amazon     Add on Goodreads 

About the Author91yshp9kj2l__ux250_

Franky A. Brown has always called the South home and loves to write about it. She holds an English degree from the University of South Carolina and can’t seem to stop reading. She is the author of women’s fiction and chick lit about life, love, and Southern women.

 

Interview

Join me in welcoming author Franky A. Brown to Once Upon an Ordinary! *curtsies*

Franky, tell us a bit about yourself.

Hello! I’m from South Carolina, where I was born, raised, and graduated college. These days I live in Montgomery, Alabama with my husband, son, and mother. So far, I have written five novels and chick lit is my favorite genre.  My website is frankybrown.com, Facebook: www.facebook.com/JuliaTheSecretKeeper, and Twitter: www.twitter.com/frankyabrown. 

What first made you decide you wanted to be an author?

I always had an active imagination and I believe becoming a writer began when I used to dress up with my friends and make believe we were princesses. I’ve kept journals since I learned to write and I think that’s part of why I feel so comfortable writing in first person. I didn’t decide becoming an author was something I could really do until I had a lot of time on my hands from an injury and a story inspired by a life experience came to me and took shape. Connecting with other authors on Facebook and through author groups encouraged me and kept me learning more about the craft.

May we have an introduction to the world of Emma’s Match and your other Austen retellings?

 My Austen Inspiration series is set in modern-day Charleston, South Carolina. Charleston is a beautiful, romantic city, filled with history and charm, and I found it the perfect setting for a love story…or three. They’re told in first person, present-tense, and it gave me the opportunity to go inside the minds of these women and walk in their shoes. Emma is from a life of privilege and her world is one of upper class, high fashion. She’s formed her own interior design company and prides herself on the perfection of her home renovations. Though her business becomes threatened by a popular competing designer, Emma finds succeeding in business may be hard, but it’s nothing compared with holding back her feelings for her long-time friend, Will Knight. As you may be able to tell, my series is inspired by Austen, not full retellings. Pride and Butterflies, for instance, shares a few central themes with Pride and Prejudice, but is very much it’s own story about two people who fall in love after an initial horrible first impression. None But You was inspired by Persuasion, with two characters who are unexpectedly thrown in each other’s path seven years after a broken engagement. Emma’s Match has a woman I imagine as a modern-day Emma Woodhouse from Emma, and she was incredibly fun to work with.

What is your favorite part about the ordinary life God has blessed you with?

 I love my family. My husband is incredibly supportive of my passion for writing and I couldn’t be more grateful for him.

Any plans for further projects?

I have two ideas. One is for a fourth Austen Inspiration with a twist on Sense and Sensibility. The other idea is a historical romance I’ve started set during the American Revolution. It’s a bit intimidating to branch out into a new genre, but exciting at the same time.

Thank you so much for coming!

Giveaway

Franky has generously offered a paperback of Emma’s Match! Use the Rafflecopter to enter. The giveaway will be closed at midnight on October 5th and the winner will be announced around 6AM on the Bookish Orchestration blog on October 6th. Find the Rafflecopter giveaway here.

Tour Schedule

Saturday, October 1
Bookish Orchestrations-Tour Introduction
Rachel Rossano’s Words– Excerpt and Character Interview
Perpetual Gardener, Writer, and Mormon-Excerpt

Sunday, October 2
Melanie D. Snitker, Author– Excerpt
Author Franky A Brown-Excerpt

Monday, October 3
Crystal Walton– Excerpt and Book Review
Laurel’s Leaves-Guest Post

Tuesday, October 4
Ramblings– Guest Post
Once Upon an Ordinary-Author Interview

Wednesday, October 5
Rachel John Reviews– Book Review

Thursday, October 6
Bookish Orchestrations-Giveaway Winner

2 thoughts on “Franky A. Brown Interview

Leave a Reply

