Top 5 Favorite Picture Books

fff-banner

I love picture books. Especially ones that hold the attention of both the child I am reading to and me. They can be such a cozy way to spend time with a child, and the conversations that often arise are definitely keepers. ❀

17414681Audrey Bunny by Angie Smith

I LOVE this story! It’s not your typical read-this-picture-book-aloud-then-groan-when-the-little-kids-ask-for-it-again-for-the-eightieth-time. The illustrations make you want to get lost in them for hours and the story is so sweet! Definitely something I will read for years to come! ❀

 

 

404405Aunt Green, Aunt Brown, Aunt Lavender by Elsa Beskow

The most important thing about a picture book is the illustrations, right? This one has adorable pictures and a great story to go with. We have a ton of fun comparing ourselves to the aunts and guessing which of them we would be. πŸ˜‰

 

 

20522387

For Such a Time as This by Angie Smith

This is probably my favorite Bible storybook of all time! While geared towards girls specifically, it doesn’t skimp on the stories or their meanings. One of my favorite things about it (besides the illustrations by Breezy Brookshire, the same illustrator of Audrey Bunny) is that Jesus’s face is never shown once! Not even when He’s a baby! I’m not a stickler for this, of course, I just appreciate the respect that is shown for Him in this way. This book is great for reading aloud to younger girls. Just a note that some of the bad women of the Bible (i.e. Gomer, Jezebel, etc.) are touched on but handled very discreetly.

6606452Norman the Doorman by Don Freeman

This is such a cute story (I mean, tiny mice with earmuffs!), and the illustrations are icing on the cheese. Great read-aloud. πŸ˜‰

 

 

153540The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton

That house with a little face is just too cute! I love the passage of seasons and years, and the end is pretty sweet. Every old house and house-lover’s dream right there. πŸ˜‰ Also a splendid read-aloud.

 

 

fff-benches-2

So grab a picture book and a child’s hand and find an out-of-the-way bench to relax and enjoy a story together. πŸ˜‰

For links to the other blogs participating in this party and entries for the grand prize, visit our hostess blog. πŸ˜‰

Since this blog party is rapidly drawing to a close, we would love to hear your thoughts through this survey. (Hint: you get a free short story for your feedback pains.) πŸ˜‰

read-another-page-fff

 

19 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Picture Books

  1. Oh my word! I love the Little House! ❀ Some of my other favorites are All the Places to Love by Patricia MacLachlan, I'll Love you Forever, and Do You Know What I'll Do? I read that last to my littlest brother. So so sweet! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “The Little House” is so fun. Have you read any other of Virginia Lee Burton’s books? We love “Katie and the Big Snow,” “Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel” and I know there is at least one other one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

