Top 5 Favorite Books for Middle Graders

fff-banner

One of the best things about being a long time bookworm is getting to recommend books to those who have just started their career/addiction/hobby. πŸ˜‰ Usually these readers are younger,Β so I have a special list just for them of clean and interesting beginner books.

41vg2b1fpzqlThe Farm Mystery seriesΒ by Stephen and Susie Castleberry

This is a ten book series (nice and long!) of mysteries set in a God-fearing home with sweet family relationships. We keep passing these down through the family to the current newest reader, and several detective clubs have been started because of them. πŸ˜‰ My personal favorite in the series is The History Mystery especially since it teaches about a little-known historical fact. πŸ˜‰

 

 

18721541The Beautiful Culpeppers by Marion Upington

It’s so hard to find doll themed books that aren’t full of magic and murder, soΒ this book is a keeper. It’s the story of a delightful little family of paper dolls (made specially by their owner’s daddy) and their search for new friends. Pretty sweet. ❀

 

 

51e6jqaxqflPearl’s Practice by Perry Elisabeth Kirkpatrick

With an adorable cover, sweet illustrations, and a daaaaaarling story, this is a big favorite. I love that it mixes together the anticipation of a new baby sister and the training for being a future mommy. Quite the pro-life, pro-motherhood story perfect for younger readers. πŸ˜‰ ❀

 

 

 

1308296The Scripture Sleuth seriesΒ by Mat Halverson

My dad bought me my first signed copy of a book in this series at a homeschool convention, and I loved it immediately. It’s the same concept as Encyclopedia Brown–a smart kid who figures out the mystery and gives a clue so you can too–except this time the clues come from Scripture verses. Quite a ton of fun. Between me, my brother, and a friend of ours we managed to collect the whole series. My favorite book is definitely book four, though the Gospel presentation in book three is pretty awesome. πŸ˜‰

 

31806915

Operation Space Cats: The Rescue Mission by Lesa McKee

I had a ton of fun reviewing this book recently and found it good enough to pass on to my youngest sister. It’s a very cute, humorous story that would work for all ages but especially younger readers. πŸ˜‰ Read my review.

 

 

 

fff-benches-2So take a book outside to the bench and settle into the story. Adventure awaits. πŸ˜‰

For links to the other blogs participating in this party and entries for the grand prize, visit our hostess blog. πŸ˜‰

Since this blog party is rapidly drawing to a close, we would love to hear your thoughts through this survey. (Hint: you get a free short story for your feedback pains.) πŸ˜‰

read-another-page-fff

 

12 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Books for Middle Graders

  1. We have all the Scripture Seluth books, too! I liked reading them, but now I kind them a bit cheesy. πŸ˜‰ A kid solving mysteries when the police are stumped is a bit unrealistic. πŸ˜› But I definitely like the idea of solving mysteries from Bible verses. In fact, I looked at an Encyclopedia mystery (of which I knew the answer, of course) and found a Bible verse that proved it! I thought that was cool. πŸ˜‰ I basically did it because I wanted to know if it could actually be done with any old mystery, not just ones that Mat Halverson made up. πŸ˜›

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

