Top 5 Favorite Christian Fiction Books

fff-banner

I love books from all genres, but when they are specifically Christian and pull me even closer to my Savior–that’s what I call a really good book. πŸ˜‰

2590521The Ball and the Cross by G.K. Chesterton

G.K. Chesterton’s books never ceases to amaze me, make me think, and draw me closer to God (while giving me a good dose of that British wit I love). This book is such an amazing journey of worldview starting with the very first chapter. It’s also a bit of a crazy adventure for two men who would like to duel (which is illegal at that time) over ideological differences. πŸ˜‰ Definitely a must read! (Though not recommended for younger readers because of some British expletives.)

 

 

evangelists-in-chainsEvangelists in Chains by Elizabeth Wagler

This book has been one of my favorites for a loooong time. It’s a compelling story (based on actual historic events) of eighty Mennonite men being marched to the sea to become galley slaves and sharing the Gospel all the way. Although I don’t agree completely with all of their church’s applications, I love this story and it inspires me to trust God all over again each time I read it. (Just a note that there are a couple martyr stories that are a little rough for younger readers.)

 

31sjgnohlzl-_bo1204203200_Sir Knight of the Splendid Way by W.E. Cule

Somebody splendid took the idea of Pilgrim’s Progress and put it in the medieval genre for a whole new amazing twist! I just adore this book, and every time I read I feel closer to God and ready to serve Him more than ever! (I also really love it that the names are subtly related to the character’s role in a way that still sounds like a real name.) The audio drama is super too. πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

8805291Mother by Kathleen Norris

This story is such a sweet tearjerker with a great message. The Goodreads description says it all, and no wonder it’s one of my family’s special “girl books” we get to read as a special treat for turning sixteen. πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

 

29811Little Pilgrim’s Progress by Helen L. Taylor

My family and I love this retelling of the classic Pilgrim’s Progress. It’s such a beautiful allegory of the Christian walk and the updated language makes it a perfect read-aloud. πŸ˜‰ (Hey, Pilgrim’s Progress retellings made it on here twice!)

 

 

 

 

fff-books

I am so excited to join in this party as we discuss our favorite book and suggest what you should read next!Β Comment below for an entry in today’s giveaway of my ebook The Treasure Hunt.

For links to the other blogs participating in this party and more information on the grand prize, visit our hostess blog. πŸ˜‰

read-another-page-fff

 

25 thoughts on “Top 5 Favorite Christian Fiction Books

  1. Ahh… “Sir Knight of the Splendid Way” and “Mother” are such good books! πŸ˜€ I’ll have to look into the others when I’ve got some spare time! πŸ˜‰ BTW, this blog party is so much fun! Way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These all look really good! I’m happy to learn there’s actual “good” Christian books left in the world and not just what passes for Christian these days (Romance with a few mentions of God and a prayer or two! It’s so annoying!) I’ll have to read these!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Our copy of Little Pilgrim’s Progress was in quite sorry shape by the time I grew up! I need to get my own copy now. Thanks for bringing back those memories! =) Liberty

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have listened to the audio drama of Sir Knight of the Splendid Way but haven’t read the book! I am a tutor (of sorts :P), and the little girl I teach has The Little Pilgrim’s Progress. We read it for a short time as part of reading class. It’s a really neat little book. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

