Kellyn Roth Interview

author photoJoin me in welcoming author Kellyn Roth to Once Upon an Ordinary! *toasts with hot chocolate*

Thanks for having me here, Kate! 🙂 *drinks hot chocolate* *burns tongue* 😉

Kellyn, tell us a bit about yourself.

Hmm, okay. I’m a homeschooled highschooler from Oregon. I live in the country with my family. I can’t stand towns and go to ridiculous lengths to avoid even visiting big cities. 😛

I’ve always really loved words. I started making up ‘songs’ and ‘poems’ when I was two or three! I think I’ve always dreamed about being a poet or songwriter, but it wasn’t until I was ten or eleven that I decided to be an author.

About two years ago, I wrote a full-length novel (The Dressmaker’s Secret) which I published this last January. I think one of the things that really got me going with this was starting my blog (kellynroth.wordpress.com) and telling people about TDS! 🙂

What first made you decide you wanted to be an author?

I’ve always been making up stories (even if those stories were just for games my little brother and I played). When I was eight or nine I started writing these stories down, and eventually I actually wrote a short story of about ten thousand words called ‘Midnight and Twilight.’ It was about wild horses living in the Sierra Nevada Mountains.

I thought Midnight and Twilight was hot stuff, needless to say! Obviously it needed to be shared with the world! So I determined that it would be someday.

And voila. I’d set my mind and nothing was gonna change it, stubborn Scotch-Irish that I am. 😉

The Lady of the Vineyard is your second book. May we have an introduction?

The Dressmaker’s Secret was my first book, yes. It comes out to about 53,000 words, so it’s technically a novel, but a pretty short novel, none-the-less! 😀

TLOTV coverThe Lady of the Vineyard is the story (or stories) of Judy, a serious six-year-old girl, Adele, Judy’s mother, and Troy, Judy’s father. Adele and Troy divorced when Judy was a baby. When Troy reappear in her life and whisks Judy off to his home in France, Adele questions the way she’s been living and who she is.

It’s not Christian fiction, at least not in the way The Dressmaker’s Secret is, but some of the characters have Christian worldviews/morals.

What is your favorite part about the ordinary life God has blessed you with?

Hmm … that’s a hard one! I don’t think I could just pick one favorite thing. How about I pick one of my favorites? Animals. I love the way He made so many incredible varieties really amazes me. I daily look at ordinary, everyday creatures – like cows – and wonder!

Any plans for further projects?

Definitely! The sequel to The Dressmaker’s Secret (or rather the second book in The Chronicles of Alice and Ivy) will be coming out January 2017 God-willing, and I have several other projects in the works, including a fantasy novel, the third book of The Chronicles of Alice and Ivy, and more! 🙂

Thank you so much for coming!

Thank you for having me! It was fun! 🙂

TLOTV blog tour 2

Follow Kellyn on Goodreads.

3 thoughts on “Kellyn Roth Interview

  1. Thanks for introducing us to Kellyn’s stories, Kate! “The Dressmakers Secret” is an intriguing title and it makes me want to find out more about the book… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

