Mid-Year Book Freak-Out Tag

I like to do these tags on Mondays, but since I don’t have any free ones for awhile (and this is already a bit overdue) I thought it might as well work for today. 😉 Katherine so kindly tagged me. 😉

Best book you’ve read so far in 2016

Don’t ever make a bookworm choose between her children. I could pick at least three best books (it’s been a banner year!), but I’ll have to go with this one. It (and it’s sequel!) has definitely been the most quotable. 😉

11

Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016

Ah!! More Douglas Adams! I’m sorry guys, I don’t read a lot of series(es?) usually. This book carried the themes over very well and did a good job making me want more. 😉 It tied up a few loose ends, but not too many.

86951

New release you haven’t read yet but want to

I was so excited to find out that this book was being released this year! I can’t wait to read it and find out more of what happens to one of my favorite fictional families. 😉

51d8puolq6l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

This book has a shiny cover, a horrendously intriguing name, and killer reviews. What’s not to like? It’s coming out in five days, and yours truly is super excited!!

31327371

Biggest disappointment

Hmm… I don’t usually try books unless I know there is a high chance I will like them, but I did find this one odd especially after enjoying Beauty so much.

773681

Biggest surprise

This one looked like an odd concept and possibly a little too magical for me, but I ended up very moved and liked it a lot. 😉

24240011

Favorite new author

Hope Ann, definitely. I had the privilege of interviewing her and reading both books she’s written so far. She had better hurry on that next book!

41egzxvm-5l-_sx311_bo1204203200_

Newest fictional crush/ship

Um… Probably Max Vandenburg from The Book Thief (even though I’m not done reading it yet) for fictional “crush”.

Ship? I haven’t read much with boats this year (although there have been some spaceships). Oh, you mean that kind.

Judging from the cover, this isn’t something I would usually pick up but I had to finish the series and find out what happens. 😉 The best part of the whole story was actually the relationship between Theo and Sophia. It stayed in its proper place for their age and situation, but it was pretty sweet and left you thinking that…maybe…in the future… 😉

272407791

Newest favorite character

No matter how much I want to, I really shouldn’t do more Douglas Adams. ;( I’ll go with Princess Sneezewort from this series. Quite the character and the illustrations made her even funnier. 😉

250747731

Book that made you cry

Other than Gossamer I already mentioned and tears of laughter from Douglas Adams (no, I am not obsessed, thank you), this book made me bawl the most recently. 😉

7143772

Book that made you happy

This one was just too adorable! (And please don’t make me choose between it and Robin McKinley’s version. They were both too good to be true.) ❤

28942618

Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year

*racks brain* I haven’t really seen any this year, though there are a few movies that have made me want to go back and read the book now. 😉 Oh, I did watch The Book Thief this year. Does that count when I haven’t finished the book yet?

Favorite post you’ve done so far this year

Hmm, tough one. I choose this fun one, this how-to one, and this inspirational one. 😛

Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year

Gulp. All books are beautiful. Will this one do? It’s deliciously thick, matte paper, and amazingly illustrationed.

23754884

Books you need to read by the end of the year

Ha, ha, ha, ha!! (This was called a freak-out tag. Be warned.) I have a Goodreads shelf called “to-read”, another called “library hopefuls” (which should probably happen soon since you can’t check them out for forever), and another shelf called “soon” which reminds me of all those books I’ve bought and put on my Kindle and forgotten. 😉 I also have the books I’m beta-reading (deadlines, you know), and who knows what will follow me home from the bookstore.

I’m so glad we had this conversation. 😉

Most of us bloggers are busy with a party or tour these coming weeks; but if anyone wants to do this, I would love to see your answers. 😉

2 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak-Out Tag

  1. Wow, I need to read some of these! The Green Ember has been at the back of my head for a while; ever since I saw it mentioned a long time ago on the Rabbit Room. And I have a friend who really likes the Douglas Adams books so maybe I should pick them up sometime 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You will love The Green Ember! It’s such an amazing story. 😉 And if you read Douglas Adams be prepared to be infected with the quoting illness. (Just so you know, there are some expletives and a few rude comments that my mom blanked out for me at my request. 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

