Plate Update: Parties, Shakespeare, and Autumn

I manage to tackle some things on my ridiculously full plate then someone inevitably offers me seconds. Who cares when the “food” is so good? 😉 Here’s an update on what I’ve been doing. This past month, I…

Beta-read:

You’ll Be Like Faye by J.C. Buchanan (four stars)

The Silent Blade by Jesseca Wheaton (four stars)

Operation Space Cats: The Rescue Mission by Lesa McKee (five stars)

Fitting In by Rebekah Morris (five stars)

I’m also reading someone’s work in progress. 😉

Pleasure read:

The Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell (three stars)

Writer to Writer: From Think to Ink by Gail Carson Levine (four stars)

The Twenty-four Days Before Christmas by Madeleine L’Engle (four stars)

Rose of Prophecy by Hope Ann (five stars)

The Doll with the Yellow Star by Yona Zeldis McDonough (five stars)

The Princess in Black; The Princess in Black and the Perfect Princess Party; and The Princess in Black and the Hungry Bunny Horde all by Shannon and Dean Hale (all four stars)

The Restaurant at the End of the Universe by Douglas Adams (four stars for my edited copy)

Gossamer by Lois Lowry (five stars)

Answered:

Emails! You wouldn’t believe how many it takes to plan a blog party. 😉

Blog and Facebook comments

A Goodreads ask-the-author question

Homeschooled Authors Read-to-Win questions

Googled:

Briggs-Meyer personality types (for stories and a tiny bit of matchmaking :P)

A quote from The Silver Chair

Symptoms of dyslexia

Punctuation with quotation marks

British vernacular ❤

The Fowler brothers

Shipping rates and rules (not more matchmaking, goofy)

Removing dried milk paint from brushes

The Dot and the Line by Norton Juster

Scraps for chickens

Hobbit height

Myrmidons

Poodle skirts 😉

Spelling of ice cream, and I found this great quiz

List of words Shakespeare invented

Jury duty

Proper paragraph length in creative writing

As well as more grammar rules, celebrity heights, and some Facebook how-tos. 😉

Wrote:

Emails😛

Blog posts (the top five being New York Times by the Book Tag, Book-Lover Blog Tag, the previous plate update, Positively Negative, and Seasonal Notebook Tutorial)

More “Legend”!

A new short story called “Enjoy the Poodle Skirt”

Writing prompts! (more on that later 😉 )

Edited:

The short story 😉

This month, I’m looking forward to beta-reading a ton more; sharing two interviews with you (one in cartoon format and the other as part of Kellyn Roth’s blog tour); pleasure reading the rest of my library hopefuls; and being one of the hostesses of a blog party.

Your ears just perked up. I saw them. “Blog party?!!” You’re invited, and here’s your adorable invitation made specially by Rebekah Morris. Pass it on!

Invitation

I also have plans to finish up “Legend” and start a new short story. 😉 And that’s just the word related projects! We’ll see how my plate fills up this coming month. You never know what might be for dessert! 😉

How was your August? Are you excited for autumn? 😉

6 thoughts on “Plate Update: Parties, Shakespeare, and Autumn

  1. Wow! You’ve been busy. I’m impressed.
    And being offered “seconds” well, that’s just how it goes. I told a friend that one of my problems was before I quite finished one project I usually started 2-3 others so I never got to really enjoy “finishing” a project. Maybe I should list my projects on my blog when I start them and then let all my readers celebrate with me when I finish one.
    Haven’t have much time to read this month. Writing, yes, but not as much as some months. Yes, lots of emails, blog posts, etc.
    Oh, and the blog party! Super fun!!!!!! 😀 I’ll try to make it. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! That’s a great idea–I’m sure everyone would love to see what you are working on. It builds the excitement. 😉 I’d trade a little reading time for more writing time. Want to?

      You’ll try to make it? Ha, ha! You better be there since you are our main hostess. 😉

      Like

      1. Sure I’ll trade you some writing time for reading time. So, go write and I’ll go read instead of working on “Finding Joy.” Oh, you didn’t like that idea?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

