Book Review: The Silent Blade

305241211“Dromiskin, Ireland. 925 A.D.

Eira has no greater desire than to see her life returned to what it once was—before her older brother Kevin’s sudden disappearance four years earlier. But the simple life she hoped for seems unattainable; on the contrary, her life is about to get all the more complicated.
When she suddenly finds herself and Willem, her twin brother, taken captive by someone who claims to be Kevin’s enemy, things go from bad to worse. It soon becomes clear that she and Willem are to become bait in a trap set for Kevin, and Eira knows she must try to warn him. But how, when she herself is a captive?
As mysteries of the past are unveiled, and loyalties are revealed, Eira realizes how precious her friends truly are. And when mortal danger threatens those nearest to her, will she be able to trust God with the lives of her friends and family?” (from Goodreads)

I loved the Irish setting of this story by Jesseca Wheaton, especially all the gorgeous names. All of the male characters were awesome (especially Willem and Stace!!!) except when SPOILER ALERT! they let Eira get captured by Henry. Think a little, dudes. My favorite part was actually the romantic side plot which is unusual for me, though I didn’t appreciate the female character’s attitude towards marriage at the beginning. 😉 When Eira SPOILER ALERT! apologizes to Casimir for impulsively hugging him, I loved the respect they had for each other’s purity, and they were so cute later. I would love to see a stronger plot and a clearer message in this story. Just note there is some thematic violence and slight feminism.

Best quote: “Nothing really.” He shrugged his shoulders. “I just decided that I needn’t spend the day alone when I could just come over and spend it helping you two.” “Helping us with what?” Casimir placed his chin in his hands and his face took on a thoughtful expression. “Hmm, let me see. I thought I’d come and help you all do nothing as well. Sound good?”

Altogether, I found this to be a nice, quick read with delightful characters.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Silent Blade

Leave a Reply

