Fantastic Fantasy Finds

I don’t read many fantasy books, but I have found a few I enjoy and can recommend wholeheartedly. Let me share them with you. 😉

dsc09964-1

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

When asked what book has most impacted my life, I immediately thought of this series. Light on the magic side with great [witty, British] characters and compelling stories, these books never fail to draw me in and nearer to my Savior.dreamlander

Dreamlander by K.M. Weiland

This book is soooooooo amazing!!! It has ginormously good worldbuilding, adventure, and characters. I love that the fantasy elements are kept to miraculous objects, unusual creatures, and world-jumping. Read my review here.

TheGreenEmberThe Green Ember by S.D. Smith

I read this book last year and loved it to pieces. The author describes it as “a new story with an old soul”, and I completely agree with him! It is such a beautiful, inspiring story; and an added bonus is that it’s completely magic free! If that wasn’t enough gushing about it for you, read my review. 😉 I can’t wait to read the second book, intriguingly titled Ember Falls.blackstar

The Blackstar of Kingston (also by S.D. Smith)

This book is a prequel to The Green Ember series and the first book in Tales of Old Natalia. I loved discovering the history of some of my favorite rabbits in an adventuresome, non-magical story! Read my review here.

24022364Water Princess, Fire Prince by Kendra Ardnek

I picked this book up just because it’s on sale this summer for Read-to-Win and was immediately pulled into a nerd’s dream world. What book would quote Jane Austen, Alice in Wonderland, and The Prince and the Pauper among others?!! The world-building was fantastic and only included other-wordly powers (excluding mind-control) as part of the fantasy. Find out more about it from my review. 😉

41egzxvm-5l-_sx311_bo1204203200_

 

Song of the Sword by Hope Ann

This book absolutely took me by surprise! There were so many good quotes to store away in my memory…so many lessons to tuck away inside my heart…so many things to love. This is another fantastic non-magical tale that serves to draw me nearer to my Lord! I’m so, so sorry [but not sorry :P]; but you are going to have to wait for my review until launch day this Friday. I’m mean like that, I know.

So, there you are! What fantasy books have you enjoyed? Come back tomorrow to read about my personal standards for this genre…

13 thoughts on “Fantastic Fantasy Finds

  1. I recently read “The Movement of Crowns” trilogy by Nadine Keels that I really liked. I also enjoyed The Goose Girl and The Princess Academy by Shannon Hale. And then … hmm. Ella Enchanted by Gale Carson Levine. And, of course, The Hobbit and The Chronicles of Narnia! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Dreamlander! I read it earlier this year myself. And I love all the quotes in Water Princess, Fire Prince (I was privileged to beta read that book).

    As for Song of the Sword, praise the Lord. It’s encouraging to know that others have not only enjoyed it, but found it inspiring as well. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

