Plate Update: Princesses, Sandwiches, and Free Books

Remember that crazy picture of my ridiculously full plate I shared last month? Here’s an update on what I have and haven’t eaten–I mean, accomplished. 😉

Last month alone I…

Beta-read:

Grace Space by Robin Merrill (three stars)

Growing Up Neighbors by Frances Hoelsema (two stars)

Song of the Sword by Hope Ann (five stars, but you have to wait to find out why 😉 )

The Dressmaker’s Secret by Kellyn Roth (three stars)

I’m also reading a few chapters a week of someone’s work in progress.

Pleasure read:

The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald (five stars)

The Princess and Curdie by George MacDonald (three stars)

The Fairy’s Return and Other Princess Stories by Gail Carson Levine (three stars)

A Different Kind of Courage by Sarah Holman (four stars)

Mad About Madeline: The Complete Tales by Ludwig Bemelmans (four stars)

Chickaboodle by Valerie Howard (four stars)

Answered:

Waaay too many emails ;P

Blog comments

Those stock questions Goodreads asks authors

Homeschooled Authors Read-to-Win questions

Googled:

Flaming arrows (I promise this was for a writing project)

Calvinist jokes… heh, heh

Word definitions

Copyright laws

Landmark books

Celebrity heights (Because it’s really important to know that Jimmy Stewart was 14″ taller than June Allyson, and Sherlock isn’t really as tall as he looks because Watson is super short. Oh, and Molly is pretty close to my height!) 😛

Sandwiches cut with love (don’t ask, just read)

The Lady of Shallot

WordPress, GoogleDocs, and Amazon how-tos

Capitalization and grammar rules

Doctor Who 50th anniversary (because my computer glasses make me look like Osgood, and it is my hands-down favorite episode)

Rules for bus travel

Wrote:

Emails 😛

Blog posts (the top five are The Lady of Shallot, Story Excerpt: Bringing in the Plants, I Write MG/YA Fiction Blog Tag, “Lost” in the Bookstore, and What’s on My Plate?)

Edited:

An excerpt of “Kiera”

Some of my siblings’ work 😉

This month, I’m looking forward to focusing on my own writing; more beta-reading; Hope Ann’s book release (!!!); and pleasure reading Amanda Tero’s Journey to Love and Letter of Love (since they are FREE today and tomorrow on Amazon!). And that’s just the book-related stuff!

How was your July?

9 thoughts on “Plate Update: Princesses, Sandwiches, and Free Books

    1. Why, thank you! Count it up and you’ll find you’ve accomplished more than you thought. That’s the way it was for me. 😉 Vacations are awesome too, though dangerously behind sounds…dangerous. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, I like your unique month update. 🙂 Looks like you were pretty busy. It also sounds like you’ve been doing a lot of beta reading. Would you be interested in beta reading the book I’m currently writing? If not, I that’s totally fine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I blinked and July went past. I’ll try to keep my eyes open this month. 🙂
    It sounds like you managed to get a lot done! Lots of reading (Ah, the days when I had more time to read!), and work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

