I Write MG/YA Blog Tag

iwritemgya

So far I’ve only published one book, but seven out of eight of my projects are geared towards MG and YA readers. I’m not much older than these age groups myself, so I still enjoy reading and writing a good adventure with a happy ending. 😉

Through the magic of Goodreads, I ran across this blog tag one of my friends had liked. (Small world.) Here are my answers to the questions. I would love to hear yours!

  1. Who are your favorite authors, and do they influence your writing? Some of my favorite authors are C.S. Lewis, Elizabeth Enright, and Eleanor Estes. The answer is–I hope so! I’m learning to emulate their powers of description and amazing characterization.
  2. Why do you write? I write because it’s the interest and the gift I have been given by God. I also recognize that there are not enough good stories in the world and want to help fill that void. (And I simply cannot stay away from words!)
  3. Is writing something you (would) do for a living, or is it just a hobby? I would love to be a wife and mother while writing as a side business like the amazing Chautona Havig does if at all possible. 😉
  4. Do you enjoy reading the same genres that you enjoy writing?  Why or why not? I love reading in almost all children’s genres since they are usually the most uplifting, insightful, and hilarious books out there. Reading specific genres can help me learn what is likable and how to accomplish it.
  5. If you could use one GIF to describe your writerly self, what would it be? I’ll have to use two because I’m a mixture of this… 3ac24cd6f9b3487a2f41f69abeb9f55f and this…
    94b0c592a4fcf2cf01e898fd07616cf7(Complete with the glasses, actually…)
  6. How do you deal with writers’ block? I deal with writer’s block by brainstorming with my siblings [artist colony], taking a break to let my inspiration recharge, or switching temporarily to another project.
  7. How do you feel about writing explicit content (e.g. “curse words” or suggestive content) in books for young people?  Why? As authors we are responsible before God for what we teach readers about Him and His world. Words are so powerful! When I’m writing, I ask myself if I would let myself read this story as a child. How would it have affected me? For better or for worse? And most importantly, would this story please God?
  8. Have you written books for adults before/after writing for young readers?  What’s the transition between genres like? I’m currently working on a NA “romance” novel. For me the only differences are older characters and some adult topics discussed if necessary but very discreetly. (And NA should still get happy endings!)
  9. What do you think of self-publishing versus traditional publishing?  If you’ve only published traditionally, would you ever self-publish?  And if you’re a self-published author, would you ever go the traditional route? I’m self-published, and I love it! It’s such a fun process and definitely much easier for low-budget, debut authors. I would only go the traditional route if I got picked up by a Christian publisher with similar values because I in no way want to compromise to sell books.
  10. What’s one question you’ve been dying to ask other MG/YA writers? Do you know of any good illustrators? 😉

And there you are! I dub–sorry, tag–Rebekah and Kellyn, but anyone else is welcome to as well!

8 thoughts on “I Write MG/YA Blog Tag

Leave a Reply

